Obvious important tools not implemented

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Sargon

Obvious important tools not implemented

Post by Sargon » Sun Nov 13, 2011 4:02 pm

I hate to see a weak point in Blender because I started to love this program and I don't want to switch to other program just to use these function! (I'm using Blender 2.6)

- Add a vertex on an edge : this means only one vertex appeared on edge. I'm not a professional programmer but I think the algorithm to do so is not complicate (split edge into two joined with a vertex, you guys can code this I'm sure!) and why in Blender the closest thing is select an edge>W>Subdivide and it gives out a ton of connecting edge! (Reducing as much as possible faces always better right?)

- Draw an edge : should be slightly harder than previous one but again the closest thing I found is Ctrl+R for a ring cut.

- Export .FBX with texture name assigned : Well this is not a mesh tool. When I exporting .FBX from Blender to use in Unity I must reassign the texture again but when I export .FBX from 3ds Max I won't have to. Is there a way to archive same effect as 3ds Max? I mean, It's the same .FBX format there should be some kind of 'slot' to assign that data why Blender can't do it? (This is troublesome for large object count with different textures) Oh, all texture on Blender has been UV unwrapped.

- Slice tool for any angle : I can use Ctrl+R and slice but only certain angle. How can I be like, Having a plane then use that plane to slice an object so edges appear on where I slice? (Often used to slice and then I can remove a portion of my object)

- Use viewport view as rendering camera : This is also very handy and I think it's not that hard to code. Just create a temp camera on current viewing position and use it as an input for same old rendering function then remove this temp camera.

And a few things that goes against my common sense :