Page 1 of 1

Why doesn't File/New make a new file?

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 3:02 am
by DubiousDrewski
I would like File/New to create for me a blank slate. Instead, it loads some previous project. How do I change this? How does this behaviour even make sense?

Why would "New" mean anything except "clean", "fresh" or "blank"?

I love this program, and I'm getting a lot accomplished with it so far, but Blender is by far the most idiosyncratic, unintuitive user experience I've ever experienced in software.

Everything "Works" so I can't really complain that much, but I can't figure out simple things sometimes.

I still can't accomplish the simple task of closing a window; Yes I've watched the Youtube videos, I see them dragging the upper right corner in that weird way. I've tried the same thing, but with no response.

What kind software designer made Blender? Who ARE you? How does your mind work?

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:22 am
by Tehrasha
File/New restores Blender to a default setting. (factory setting of a single cube object)

It would appear that you saved a previous project as your default.

Delete all the objects you dont want, and File>Save User Setting.

This will become your new 'default' starting point.

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:48 am
by DubiousDrewski
Thank you for explaining it. I see that Ctrl U is the shortcut for this. That's great.

If anyone feels generous, I am still confused by Blender's method for closing a window. This is apparently how you do it:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A0J1LKe-yAU

I do exactly as he does, but to no effect. I don't understand why there isn't just a simple right-click/Close Window option. I am so confounded at this interface.

Thanks again for your help so far.

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 5:58 am
by Tehrasha
A bit more up-to-date tutorial on how the windowing system works in Blender...

http://youtu.be/_SvnEHm_BiQ?t=2m34s

Posted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 7:32 am
by juhana
How about:

Providing submenu to New with user added "saves".
Plain New goes to "save" at top of the list.
The list order can be changed: top can be any of the "saves".
By default the factory "save" is at top.

Having the window controls also in the menus / popup menu.
So that people can check what controls are available.
Split area vert/horiz could split to halves like in Emacs.

Posted: Thu Sep 20, 2012 3:41 pm
by Fire_Head431
Yea, this is an odd one.. Just go to the prefrences part and change the default start up :) Like the others said too :roll:

Sometimes things are the way they are for a reason.

Posted: Fri Sep 21, 2012 11:16 pm
by dustractor
Setting your user preferences is a art.

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 1:46 pm
by DubiousDrewski
This is even weirder. My Start-up file sets itself, without my knowledge and without my permission. I swear I am not hitting Ctrl-U at any point while working on a project, yet at random, when booting up Blender, the startup file will be some past iteration of my project. I have to repeatedly select-all, delete and rest my Start up file. All so that my File/New works as it's supposed to.

What if a user didn't realize what was going on and began working on this file without realizing it's an old copy? How frustrating that would be for them!

What is the damned purpose of this behaviour?! It makes no ****** sense.

Someone on this list is responsible for this behaviour.

That person is a ******* moron. An IDIOT. What the hell are you doing designing software you BAFOON!

Posted: Fri Oct 12, 2012 7:56 pm
by Tehrasha
DubiousDrewski wrote:This is even weirder. My Start-up file sets itself, without my knowledge and without my permission. I swear I am not hitting Ctrl-U at any point while working on a project, yet at random, when booting up Blender, the startup file will be some past iteration of my project. I have to repeatedly select-all, delete and rest my Start up file. All so that my File/New works as it's supposed to.
I would be willing to bet that at some point during your project you made a change to your keymap or addons and clicked 'save as default'.

Yes, its annoying, and separating project prefs from application prefs is being worked on.
That person is a ******* moron. An IDIOT. What the hell are you doing designing software you BAFOON!
Join in and help correct it. If not, here is your money back. $0.00