Grease pencil rendering in VSE [request]

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

tynaud

Grease pencil rendering in VSE [request]

Post by tynaud » Wed Feb 27, 2013 5:40 pm

Hi Everybody !

Actually I am studying animation, and I am using Blender and Maya (because of the rigs provided by the school, they are Maya ones...). But I am using Blender for modeling, texturing, rendering (thanks to mdd I can import my animations), and even video editing for making video references and stick original movie audio on top of it (using drawform and lipsync principles to adjust them together), and also exporting in a lighter format in order to send it to my instructor. And it's great too in order to put all your exercises together and do what we should not show : a "progress" reel... :lol:

There is one more feature which is really great but a bit useless at the same time if you integrate blender in a workflow with maya for animation... The Grease Pencil ! There is no good grease pencil in Maya, but Blender has one which is really nice, and it's really handy to draw some line of actions and write some notes on your video reference in order to speed up the blocking pass - importing image sequence on a plane directly in 3D view (this is a golden pose frame 11, this one a key, here it's becoming almost static, slight tx on left...) The fact is that if you put some notes with GP in the sequencer window, when you export your image sequence the GP strokes are not rendered...

I tried to do some screencast while playing the animation, but there is no sync so it dropped a lot of frames.

Finally I wrote this dirty thing (first time I am writing something in python, in a recursive way because I learnt scheme a long time ago... haha ! But I think a lot of things could be simplified, it's more some guessing and a trial/error process for me)

Code: Select all

import bpy
import os