Large number of objects help

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Jedijds
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:19 am

Large number of objects help

Post by Jedijds » Tue Apr 16, 2013 9:02 pm

Ok in this link the guy claims to have 32k+ planks
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=143k1fqP ... detailpage
my question is how. I can hardly get 30k objects on my computer and it has a very hard time working. I know it can handle it, my computer has and 8 core 3.5 GHz AMD CPU and 2x galaxy GTX 660 TI graphics card with sli connection. I know it can handle it, so how can this guy do that and my over qualified computer can not?
۞◄█°‖‖‖‖‖█ʭʭ╬(░▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒)

CoDEmanX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Post by CoDEmanX » Wed Apr 17, 2013 8:50 am

32k linked duplicates of one mesh should be faster than 32k individual objects / meshes, that might be a reason. Also keep in mind that multiple cores may not be used for certain tasks, as there is no multithreading support throughout blender (compositing, tracking etc. are threaded, but really not sure about viewport). Maybe enable VBO in user prefs, if not already? That should give you a speedup.
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

Jedijds
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:19 am

Post by Jedijds » Wed Apr 17, 2013 3:58 pm

I was afraid your going to say that about the multithreading. The links makes sense, thanks ill try it when I get home. (I’m at school now.) For now what is VBO? Sorry for not knowing what that is by now.
۞◄█°‖‖‖‖‖█ʭʭ╬(░▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒)

CoDEmanX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Post by CoDEmanX » Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:38 pm

VBO stands for Vertex Buffer Array:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Vertex_Buffer_Object

The basic idea is to transfer all geometry etc. to the GPU once and keep it in its memory, then just send commands how it should transform this data instead of sending loads of data for every frame over and over with just a few changes.

You find that option in the User prefs, System tab.
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

Jedijds
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 5:19 am

Post by Jedijds » Thu Apr 18, 2013 12:51 am

Wow, thanks that help a lot. Still slowing down quite a bit at 30k but its not freezing like it did before, thanks again.
Just to get this straight, Shift+D is a full duplicate and the Alt+D is the link right?
۞◄█°‖‖‖‖‖█ʭʭ╬(░▒▓▓▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒▒)

CoDEmanX
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2009 7:42 pm
Location: Germany

Post by CoDEmanX » Thu Apr 18, 2013 8:22 am

that's right, but you can do either one and change whether it should be linked or not in the tools panel (aka tool props / redo panel)
I'm sitting, waiting, wishing, building Blender in superstition...

Post Reply