feature request: render in channels

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
cekuhnen
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

feature request: render in channels

Post by cekuhnen »

is it possible to let blender render into channels so in photoshop the diffuse specular shadow refelctions channels could be tweaked?

claas

Monkeyboi
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Post by Monkeyboi »

Yes, but it requires some work to set it up. I sometimes render in several passes; diffuse, specular, shadow, reflection etc.

Just play around with the materials basicly..

cekuhnen
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

Post by cekuhnen »

i know this way but with bigger scenes this is kidna a hassel and a lot of extra work. i still use it quite often.

emack
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 1:53 am

Post by emack »

This will be achieved automatically with the upcoming integration of Aqsis/RIB output.

Monkeyboi
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue Nov 26, 2002 1:24 pm
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Contact:

Post by Monkeyboi »

You can use the Ctrl-L (Make Links) menu to speed things up a bit.. Softimage XSI has a very clever automatic way of doing different passes. It works a treat, and it would be nice to see something similar in Blender.

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman »

It would be nice to have a global toggle for
Specular
Diffuse
Ambient
AO
Shadows
Volumetric lighting
Reflections
....any more?

Then mabe some way to render each seperately.

cekuhnen
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 13, 2003 11:04 pm

Post by cekuhnen »

i look forward to aqiss and 3delight but i fear that 3delight will not be free for ever any more and aqsis just misses some render features 3delight offers.

claas

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

I missed this thread and wanted to join !

Many software have this feature included and its quite cool. And maybe it's a mistake to entirely rely on Aqsis/Whatever integration. This kind of feature should be blender internal renderer's IMHO.

Cheers !

malefico.

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman »

some of these could be dont in python- simply by duplicating the scene and changing the settings-

Not the best way I admit but could be dont within a few hours-

Post Reply