Feature Proposal

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto » Fri Sep 24, 2004 12:57 am

After reading the post from Ideasman about a wire frame script
http://www.blender.org/modules.php?op=m ... pic&t=4647

thought and wrote somthing about it:

Advanced Wireframe Rendering
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/#22


Karamba!
Bart.

Blender Feature Proposal:
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto » Sat Sep 25, 2004 10:12 pm

With the last CVS built new theme options arrived, so extended my proposal about theme submition, theme applying, missing new options and better option grouping:

http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/#16



Karamba!
Bart.

Blender Feature Proposal:
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto » Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:57 pm

Considering what will come in 2.35 (and that is really great!), deleted some sections and linked to actual development.

Karamba!
Bart.

Blender Feature Proposal:
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/

Crafty
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:19 pm

Post by Crafty » Tue Sep 28, 2004 10:53 pm

You've got some good ideas in that list. I have a few opinions too:
I think Blender needs transform gizmos. Moving and rotating things is a pain in the ass without them.
Another thing i dont like is that red circle you move with the left mouse button. As far as I know its completely useless and you could use LMB for something else.
Im not sure whether its possible to set your own hotkeys, but i havent noticed a way to do it yet. It'd be nice to set custom hotkeys.

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto » Fri Oct 01, 2004 10:17 am

Have you seen you can swap LMB and RMB in the preferences. The gizmo concept is the typical 3dsMax workflow but not a Blender one. Do not know why this is needed for moving or rotating.

Crafty
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:19 pm

Post by Crafty » Fri Oct 01, 2004 2:16 pm

Witout gizmos you have to press a different hotkey for each axis, with gizmos you would have one hotkey and then you could just pull different arrows. IMO thats faster and easier. The current system works too but i dont see a reason why gizmos or something similiar couldnt be done.

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Fri Oct 01, 2004 5:41 pm

I think that red circle is the 3d cursor.
The idea is that you put your cursor somewhere and create new stuff from that cursor.
That's very simular to other products, like texteditors etc.
Strangely, some people like the idea of adding objects in the centre of the world and then move them to the right spot. I think these people are users of other 3d software. It would be odd if I had this behaviour in my textedit software. Now if this should be LMB or RMB or MMB is another issue. Software users are very used to putting the cursor with the LMB (try it yourself in the "post a reply" box, and see btw that the text is insert on the spot of the cursor, not on top of the box and then needs to be moved to where you want the text).
Now if users wouln't accept the feel of a 3d cursor then the whole thing can be send to the bin, but I always felt very comfortable with it.

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Fri Oct 01, 2004 5:55 pm

I very much see the use for the cursor, but not using it a whole lot myself it gets really annoying when you accidentally hit the cursor-button. I know, it shouldn't bother me, but it does:/ Maybe an option to lock, or disable the cursor when not needed would be an idea. Also, I feel there could be an option to create objects centered instead of at the cursor, much like in other appz. It's just a thing of preference :roll: Customizability is the way to go, and the blender-coders have already done a great job on that so far:)
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

Crafty
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:19 pm

Post by Crafty » Fri Oct 01, 2004 6:18 pm

Bello pretty much said it all.

BTW, in many programs you dont have to add the object in the center, but you can just click where you want the object, and there's no need for a useless cursor.

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Fri Oct 01, 2004 7:19 pm

and there's no need for a useless cursor.
Now, now. I was trying to win these guys over 8) No need to aggravate things :roll: The cursor is useful to some.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

halibut
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:02 pm
Contact:

Post by halibut » Fri Oct 01, 2004 7:33 pm

It was REALLY useful when you could grab it. That meant one wasn't constantly having to snap it to grid.

Crafty
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 28, 2004 8:19 pm

Post by Crafty » Sat Oct 02, 2004 10:06 am

Hehe, im sure its useful to some, but i just think there could be a better way to do the same thing. Not trying to aggravate things. :)


ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto » Tue Oct 05, 2004 9:04 pm

Just an addition:
It would be great if you can move object not just in X,Y,Z; if you can move it on two axis at the same (like in 3dsMax) time too: XY, ZX, ZY.

http://www.cglearn.com/tutorials/max5/h ... 03.169.gif

Karamba!
Bart.

Blender Feature Proposal:
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico » Tue Oct 05, 2004 9:28 pm

I was thinking exactly the same thing but applied to scaling yesterday... it would save a lot of cursor moving...

Anyway, probably you have to change a little the way you call axis. For instance if you move in XY plane, G,X,Y, but if you want to move in X and change your mind and want to move in Y... ?

Post Reply