Several "everyday's work" feature proposals

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Several "everyday's work" feature proposals

Post by malefico »

Hi,

These things are needed in common film production, I think these are more or less simple to add... who knows...

1- Timecode stamping in render (it could be timeline or frame number)

2- Pinning of UVs. Not only "LSCM" pinning, I mean real pinning, so pinned UVs won't move when arranging other UVs.

3- Object group appending. WHen several objects are parented to an empty, it would rock if importing that empty would bring up everything parented to it too.

4- A way to quickly update shaded in viewports ? Can't get it to reflect changes in lighting quickly...


Anyway, cheers and thanks in advance !

malefico.

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Re: Several "everyday's work" feature proposals

Post by z3r0_d »

malefico wrote:4- A way to quickly update shaded in viewports ? Can't get it to reflect changes in lighting quickly...
numpad 9?

actually, it should but it doesn't

entering grab mode on a lamp or something does work however

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

Or just hit Ctrl-Z.

Num 9 doesn't refresh because it just calls the redraw function which doesn't refresh the shaded calculations (for obvious reasons).

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

Yeah, I know about CTRL Z, but it works kind of erratic. Sometimes it does update, some other it doesn't. That's why I'm calling atention to it :-)

What do you think about the other suggestions ?

Cheers

malefico

EDIT: OK I think I figured out what is going on. The Shaded Mode from the viewport control is only taken into account if Object's drawtype is set to Shaded too. It doesn't automatically change to the matching viewport mode.
That's funny, I don't recall it working that way, but I could be wrong. So, at start, every object is Drawtype Shaded.

Another thing: if you choose Wire for Drawtype, the object keeps Wired whatever mode you set in the viewport, which is correct (or at least is what I expected). But if the viewport is Wire Mode, and you set Drawtype to Solid, then nothing happens.

So, a proposal could be to be able to keep the set Drawtype working on, no matter what viewport mode is currently selected. I thought that Viewport selection was somehow connected to Drawtype, so by default, Drawtype is set equal to viewport mode, and you being able to manually change the normal behaviour. I guess either I was wrong, or there is a small bug here.

Cheers.

malefico.

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

Think of the DrawType property has a maximum value on a drawing types scale. It can't use a draw type higher than the value, but it can go lower.

That's why an object with DrawType Wire will display as wire in ViewPort Shaded (it can't go higher than Wire)
But an object with DrawType Shaded will display as wire in ViewPort Wire (it could go to Shaded, but the viewport only ask for wire).

It's not very clear how it works in the interface.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

Thanks for the explanation Theeth ! You never know everything about Blender !

Would it be too annoying to change this concept :D ?
In crowded scenes, sometimes its nice to have everything in Bounds drawtype, while having yur main character shaded (for instance). Currently to have something like this I need to have the viewport Shaded Mode, change some object's drawtype to Bounding Box and then copy its drawtype to the remaining objects, but wouldn't it be faster to have the scene in Bounds mode and switch only the main char to shaded mode ?

I know I sound like an insolent brat, but anyway, it won't hurt you :D :D

What I mean, is that maybe "socialist" drawtypes would be more useful/productive than the curremt drawtype"scale" aproach ? (Being such a brat, I'm completely missing the possible complexity such a change might involve)

Cheers and thanks again !

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

Something like that could be done if we switched the system around. Instead of using the DrawTypes as maximum value, they could be used as Minimum values (I guess this could be a User Pref). All object would default to BoundBox. In your case, you'd set your main character to Shaded (to make him always display as shaded) and switch the viewport to Bound (showing all other objects as bound).

No sure if it's worth the hassle of coding it, but it seems like both would be useful depending on how you work.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

ilac
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 8:24 am

Post by ilac »

theeth wrote:Something like that could be done if we switched the system around. Instead of using the DrawTypes as maximum value, they could be used as Minimum values (I guess this could be a User Pref). All object would default to BoundBox. In your case, you'd set your main character to Shaded (to make him always display as shaded) and switch the viewport to Bound (showing all other objects as bound).

No sure if it's worth the hassle of coding it, but it seems like both would be useful depending on how you work.

Martin
It has other uses too - and has been requested and discussed in the past on several occasions. The 'minimum values' approach would' for example, be very useful when rotoscoping with UV planes. It would be useful to have your UV mapped planes individually set to 'shaded', rather than having to individually set the other objects through the different modes manually according to need!! :cry:

:wink:

superrom
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by superrom »

The group appending is a great idea. A layer append would be cool too. Or maybe the possibility to select multiple objects to append, and not just one at a time.

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

Or maybe the possibility to select multiple objects to append, and not just one at a time.
Actually you can append multiple objects, just select them with RMB.
However it is hard if you have many children, maybe a flag to append all children without having to manually select them....

superrom
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by superrom »

Thank you very much, that's a great news.

Post Reply