Camera Switching

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
FourMadMen
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:13 am

Camera Switching

Post by FourMadMen »

In the past I've seen discussion about this but I have a take on it that I've not seen mentioned:

Currently in the view menu there is an option for "Camera" (with it's hotkey shown). How about changing "Camera" to "Active Camera" and adding a submenu called "Cameras" (which shows if there is more than one camera in the scene) which lists all of them? You could then select a new active camera from that list.

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto »

I suggest that at my Feature Proposal too:
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/#19

with hotkeys and pics ;)


Karamba!
Bart.

Blender Feature Proposal
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

There is a list where you can select your camera('s). It's shift F4.

I'm not sure it should be in the view. Selecting other views (top, left etc.) don't mess with the render camera, this feature would.

There is a difference between selecting a camera, making it the main render viewport and looking through a camera (or any object).
In blender you can look through any object. Very handy if you want to look through a spotlamp. select the lamp, press ctrl-numpad0 etc voila. (alt-numpad0 will bring you back to latest look through camera).

I'd rather see an user quick selection popup. Where I can put in my own objects that I'm going to select often. May it be camera's or lamps bones or maybe even layers.

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto »

The data block selection (Shift+F4) is not the same as switching through available cameras. The Funtion with Numpad0 to look through any object is fine but not quite good when you have different cameras in scene and like to adjust them or check them.

So a camera switch list would be great, looking through another object that is not a cam can be done with the actuall method Numpad0 .

Karamba!
Bart.

Blender Feature Proposal
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

You have to elaborate more on 'switching through available cameras'.

Does this mean you set the viewport to the camera but not as the render camera? Like for example: if you switch to top view the render camera stays the render camera. Or... does switching the viewport to another camera also set that viewport as render camera?
Your not clear on that.

shift F4 is a 'list' of all available datablocks, so also camera's.
If you press shift F4 P you'll get a fs view on everything in blender.
Yes I know a fs view is different from a popup view.
But once you start with a camera popup list why not a lamp popup list, texture popup list etc? that's where shift F4 P comes in right?

FourMadMen
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:13 am

Post by FourMadMen »

I didn't know about being able to set the view from any object so let me try to be a little more clear on what I'm saying.

If I've got several cameras, I'd like to be able to (easily) switch which one is used for scene rendering.

I choose the View menu because it already had "Camera" listed but a popup would be ok too. If the view menu is not the best place perhaps the render panel could have a dropdown list of available cameras.

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

I've written a small script for personal use, which loads all cameras in current scene and creates a simple interface, so you only need to press a button to switch to the desired camera. I can upload it if you are interested.
However I do think this should be a builtin feature pretty much as in B@rt's proposal, since the process is quite slow...

Cheers.

malefico.

FourMadMen
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:13 am

Post by FourMadMen »

Yes, very interested. Thanks.

jms
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Oct 19, 2002 3:04 pm

Post by jms »

FourMadMen wrote:Yes, very interested. Thanks.
there is also the script pointed by this page:
http://www.blender3d.org/cms/Python_Scripts.3.0.html
Zoo-3D.Blender, Ze French-Speaking Community SKB My french book about Blender.

ElBarto
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Jun 11, 2004 3:24 pm
Location: Berlin
Contact:

Post by ElBarto »

Tried them with Blender CVS 1909 and none of them worked. Seems there more thought for Animation use.

Another thing is you must select the Camera first to activate it, my feature proposal brings up a camera list:
http://www.neeneenee.de/blender/features/#19

and let you easy switch from the activated to next or previous.

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

Well, remember, this was for personal use. Of course, you have to be in camera view to notice something. Not suited for animation, just to easily preview camera viewpoints.
No error verification !

Code: Select all


#!BPY

""" Registration info for Blender menus:
Name: 'Camera Control'
Blender: 233
Group: 'Misc'
Tip: 'Switch to selected camera'
"""
#
#
#
#
#-------------------------------------------------
#            CONTROL DE CAMARAS v. 0.2
#-------------------------------------------------
#
#       por Claudio "malefico" Andaur - (16-6-2004)
# 
# 
# Aqui vamos !, arrancar el script con ALT+P en esta ventana.
#
# El script debe leer las camaras que existan en el blend, 
# crear una lista, y generar un GUI con un boton por camara
# con su nombre impreso. 
# Click en boton para ver desde esa camara (dah...dohhhh...).
#
#
#--------------------------------------------------
# OK, this was for personal use, so, don't complain.
# It should load all your cameras and build a simple GUI to select them.
#
# Cheers.
#

import Blender
from Blender import Types, Scene, Object, Camera
from Blender.Draw import *
from Blender.BGL import *

def interfaz():
#	AngarraCamaras()
	# Limpia pantalla, robado de UV_EXport
	Blender.BGL.glClearColor(0.5,0.5,0.5, 0.0)
	Blender.BGL.glColor3f(1.,1.,1.)
	GeneraBotones()
	
	# Textos varios

	glRasterPos2i(InicioX, InicioY-50)
	Blender.Draw.Text("Camera Control Room")
	glRasterPos2i(InicioX, InicioY-70)
	Blender.Draw.Text("(c) malefico")


def AngarraCamaras():
	global Objeto, Camaras
	Camaras = []
	#Captura todas las camaras en la escena
	print "Reading cameras from scene..."
	Objeto = Object.Get()	
	for Obj in Objeto:
		datos = Obj.getData()
		if type(datos) == Types.CameraType:
			print Obj, datos
			Camaras.append(Obj.name)

	print Camaras
#	print "Saludos Daniel, Gus, Manu, Diego, Ivan..."


def GeneraBotones():
	global InicioX, InicioY
	InicioX = 40
	InicioY = 400
	Evento = 100
	for x in Camaras:
		LargoBoton = GetStringWidth(x, "normal")
		Blender.Draw.Button(x, Evento, InicioX, InicioY, LargoBoton + 20, 15)
		InicioY = InicioY - 17
		Evento = Evento +1

def event(evt, val):
	if (evt == ESCKEY and not val): Exit()

def bevent(evt):
	INDEX = evt - 100
	if (evt == 1):Exit()
	else: # alguna camara
		ObjetoCamara = Blender.Object.Get(Camaras[INDEX])
		#CamaraData = ObjetoCamara.getData()
		#CamaraActiva = Camera.Get(CamaraData.name)
		#print CamaraActiva
		Escena = Scene.getCurrent()
		Escena.setCurrentCamera(ObjetoCamara)
		Redraw()
	Register(interfaz, event, bevent)

AngarraCamaras()
Register(interfaz, event, bevent)
Cheers.

malefico.

FourMadMen
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Jul 13, 2004 5:13 am

Post by FourMadMen »

Thanks for those scripts. I haven't had a change to check them out (been busy playing with face and edge selection) but I will. And thanks again.

Post Reply