Is there something like this in Blender?

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
dsp_418
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:29 pm

Is there something like this in Blender?

Post by dsp_418 » Sun Jan 16, 2005 7:20 pm

I don't know if this is the right place for a request like this ...
Btw, there's a nice feature available in Cinema4D:
http://www.maxoncomputer.com/tutorial_d ... =142&site=

Inner extrude. If I'm right something like that in Wings3D as well ... it should be insect.
Is there something like that for Blender?

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Sun Jan 16, 2005 7:36 pm

Inset, not insect;) I do believe that's planned for Theeths transform refactoring.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

dsp_418
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 12, 2005 2:29 pm

Post by dsp_418 » Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:12 pm

Bellorum wrote:Inset, not insect;)
Lol :)
I made a funny mistake.
I do believe that's planned for Theeths transform refactoring.
Sorry, what's Theeths transform refactoring?
Is it Tuhopuu releases?

halibut
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:02 pm
Contact:

Post by halibut » Sun Jan 16, 2005 8:32 pm

dsp_418 wrote: Sorry, what's Theeths transform refactoring?
Is it Tuhopuu releases?
Theeth is a developer who is working on the transform code.

mzungu
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2004 7:40 pm

Post by mzungu » Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:55 pm

You can kinda do this (inset) already with the new extrude face/region tool. (I liked this feature in Wings3D, too...) When you perform the extrude, instead of dragging and clicking the new vertices to a new location simply click the right mouse button and they'll stay right in the same location as the original vertices. Then, while they're still selected, simply scale them, and you'll get your inset. (Of course your pivot point needs to be the median point...)

Is this what you're after or did I misunderstand?

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum » Thu Jan 20, 2005 8:57 pm

Yeah, that works, but only on planar surfaces.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

Post Reply