Two-monitors (Mac OS X) - Blender doesn't work

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

foxcorner

Two-monitors (Mac OS X) - Blender doesn't work

Post by foxcorner » Thu Jul 28, 2005 3:41 am

Hi all,

I'm new to Blender, and I'm looking forward to getting started.

I have 2.36 on Mac OS X 10.3.9.

I have a Radeon 7500 in my G4, with two monitors attached. Note that the screen resolutions of the two monitors are not the same, due to different monitor sizes (1600x1200 and 1280x1024).

If I disconnect the smaller monitor and reboot, so that the Mac runs with just one monitor, then Blender is fine.

However, if I bring it up with both heads, Blender appears (though the splash image never shows), and all its operations are painfully slow - such as 40 seconds for responding to a menu click. And I get the feeling that 3D functionality isn't working either, though I usually give up as soon as I can get to the quit item on the menu (about 1.5 minutes!). I get a lot of beachballing.

I'm not one of those wanting to spread Blender's UI across the two monitors - my objective is to have Blender on the main screen and Firefox (say) with a tutorial on the smaller screen.

Does anyone know why Blender doesn't like my setup, and what I can do about it?

Thanks,
Dan

solmax

Post by solmax » Thu Jul 28, 2005 4:48 pm

i think it's due to the old graphic card (probably with low ram). i have similar difficulties (on one monitor) with a GeForce2MX when switching to true-color. consider, two monitors need much more ram for the larger display area.

so try to lower the resolution, reduce colors to thousands, or get a decent graphics card ( i know, it's much more difficult than when having a pc). a radeon 9000 could suffice.

Fire Angel

Post by Fire Angel » Wed Aug 03, 2005 7:11 pm

The graphics card you are using doesn't have enough RAM.