Page 2 of 3

Re: blender patchwork

Posted: Sat Mar 04, 2006 2:57 pm
by fobsta
vizzy wrote:fobsta, about the python thing, does the 'make' built worked before i posted above? so i guess python was dynamic too. I only have py2.3 installed at this time.
Yes the previous version built with make worked fine.

How about posting a link from the Elysiun news and chat forum http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=1 to this thread here? The Elysiun bunch are friendly and enthusiastic.

I've just ran the 'old' version built with make and noticed an inconsistancy.

select 3d view -> view -> side

the viewport description is labelled 'Right'

is this correct?

Finally a request feauture. Can you provide an option to prevent the plan viewports (top, side, front) changing into 'user' viewports when the user presses the middle mouse button and moves the mouse over the window?

I ask for this because I am always accidentally changing my plan views to 3d views and having to change them back. Maybe I'm just stupid :wink:

thanks

Re: blender patchwork

Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 12:15 am
by vizzy
hi,
fobsta wrote: Yes the previous version built with make worked fine.
thats great to hear. ive just managed to enable gameengine and gl2ps vector output with make . it works fine now. no more python 2.3 needed, seems to be static right now. scons blenderstatic is still todo

check the update on http://www.vizzy.de/index.php?i=verblender :!:
fobsta wrote: How about posting a link from the Elysiun news and chat forum http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewforum.php?f=1 to this thread here? The Elysiun bunch are friendly and enthusiastic.
here it is :) http://www.elysiun.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=63299
fobsta wrote: I've just ran the 'old' version built with make and noticed an inconsistancy.
select 3d view -> view -> side
the viewport description is labelled 'Right'
is this correct?
yes, 'side view' is 'right view' ill maybe hack that too and change names in menu, maybe have to add left too. shift+num3 is 'left view'.
fobsta wrote: Finally a request feauture. Can you provide an option to prevent the plan viewports (top, side, front) changing into 'user' viewports when the user presses the middle mouse button and moves the mouse over the window?
mmmh, sry , dont know how to implement that yet.....
fobsta wrote: I ask for this because I am always accidentally changing my plan views to 3d views and having to change them back. Maybe I'm just stupid :wink:
thanks
maybe that helps: in user preferences 'view&control' enable the 'auto-perspective' button enabled, and set 'panning' to middle mousebutton.

yours
vizzy / verblendet

Posted: Sun Mar 05, 2006 1:12 pm
by fobsta
Hi

It's working again though I get this non fatal error message from the command line

Using Python version 2.3
Could not find platform independent libraries <prefix>
Could not find platform dependent libraries <exec_prefix>
Consider setting $PYTHONHOME to <prefix>[:<exec_prefix>]
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback

Rotating Axis Icon patch - thanks for making it bigger. Another suggestion.... IMHO it's too dim. Could you draw it brighter? For example the same colours as the 3D manipulators.

Viewpoint Name in 3DView patch
- Adding a left and right view would be great. Anything to make the users life easier.

'set 'panning' to middle mousebutton' - thank you! I've never tried this option before :D

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 1:40 am
by UncleZeiv
fobsta wrote:I think the 3d rotating axis should be drawn with perspective when in perpective mode. At the moment it's always orthographic
By the way, I checked how it's done in 3dstudio, and it is always orthographic ;)

Posted: Mon Mar 06, 2006 2:25 am
by vizzy
UncleZeiv wrote: By the way, I checked how it's done in 3dstudio, and it is always orthographic ;)
let blender be the better one! :D

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 1:32 am
by UncleZeiv
Updated "rotating view icon" patch:
  • resizeable
  • user prefs (enable, resize)
  • object info moves so that it doesn't overlap
Image

The patch is in the tracker (#3876).

Posted: Fri Mar 17, 2006 9:47 pm
by fobsta
UncleZeiv wrote:Updated "rotating view icon" patch:
  • resizeable
  • user prefs (enable, resize)
  • object info moves so that it doesn't overlap
.
Is their a build that incorporates this patch?

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 7:16 pm
by UncleZeiv
Here you are.

Windows build (from Jody):
http://www.blender3d.it/lab/blender_CVS ... _patch.zip

Linux build (from me):
http://www.savefile.com/files/4486343

Please note: both builds include also another, minor patch, which makes you zoom towards the 3d cursor instead of the center of the screen. This is highly tentative and possibly useless, so if you don't like it, just don't mind, it's completely unrelated to the rotating view icon :)

Posted: Sat Mar 18, 2006 9:23 pm
by fobsta
I've just tried out the windows build.

Looking good and here are my comments.

In the user preferences why don't you have one button to toggle all the view icons? The entry in the user prefs would change from 'Rotating view icon' to 'View Icons'

I like the way the 3d view axis icon translates when you change it's size but I don't think it makes any sense to move the ortho view axis icons.

Bug? When changing the view icon axis size the text below it translates as well. Is it meant to do this? It looks a bit weird!

cheers

ps the viewports names are missing in this build

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 11:28 am
by UncleZeiv
fobsta wrote:In the user preferences why don't you have one button to toggle all the view icons? The entry in the user prefs would change from 'Rotating view icon' to 'View Icons'
I'm not sure I got what you mean. The behaviour would be the same as now, you just want a cosmetic change?
fobsta wrote:I like the way the 3d view axis icon translates when you change it's size but I don't think it makes any sense to move the ortho view axis icons.
I can't understand what you mean here, neither. I translate the center of the axis so that they can rotate without being clipped outside the 3d view window... there's no "ortho view icon" as such.
fobsta wrote:Bug? When changing the view icon axis size the text below it translates as well. Is it meant to do this? It looks a bit weird!
It's a feature :) Otherwise the text would overlap with the rotating axis.

Hope I answered your questions.
fobsta wrote:ps the viewports names are missing in this build
Yes I know, this built was meant only to test my patches. The other patch is not mine, even if I am considering to add userprefs there too.

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 1:29 pm
by fobsta
Hi

Point 1
one button to toggle all the view icons? The entry in the user prefs would change from 'Rotating view icon' to 'View Icons'. I'm not sure I got what you mean. The behaviour would be the same as now, you just want a cosmetic change?
I think the enable rotating view icon should toggle ALL the axis view icons in all the windows. For example if you had a traditional 4 view modelling setup (perpective, top, front and side) the button would toggle the axis view icon in all windows simultaneously.

Point 2
I like the way the 3d view axis icon translates when you change it's size but I don't think it makes any sense to move the ortho view axis icons.I can't understand what you mean here, neither. I translate the center of the axis so that they can rotate without being clipped outside the 3d view window... there's no "ortho view icon" as such.
if I have two viewpoints, a perpective and a top view, side by side and I change the axis size, both the perpective axis view icon and the top view axis icon move. I understand why the perpective icon moves but I don't see a reason why the top view icon should.

Point 3
Bug? When changing the view icon axis size the text below it translates as well. Is it meant to do this? It looks a bit weird! It's a feature Smile Otherwise the text would overlap with the rotating axis.
Personally I think this looks a little strange. Maybe the rotating view icon should be placed and locked into a position where it can not overlap the the text. Further out from the bottom left hand corner of the viewport. The text would not have to move.

I hope I don't sound too negative - I really appreciate the work you are doing :D

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 2:28 pm
by BogdanOancea
Hi, guys :D

A big thank you for working on implementing a xyz widget and a viewport label (left, right, front, back, camera 01, 02, user, etc).

If you succeed in having the labels working for 2.42, it would be better to free up some space from the already cluttered panel headers by moving the View menu on the label itself, with the same entries (View Properties/Background Image/User/Camera... and so on... except, of course the entry for the active view).

(There's no poll, but I'd give a big thumbs up for the xyz widget to reflect the perspective or ortographic mode of the viewport).

Cheers
bogdan

Posted: Sun Mar 19, 2006 6:14 pm
by UncleZeiv
fobsta wrote:I think the enable rotating view icon should toggle ALL the axis view icons in all the windows.
:shock: That's how it should behave! It works for me... haven't tried out the windows build, maybe something wrong there?!? I'll check.
fobsta wrote:if I have two viewpoints, a perpective and a top view, side by side and I change the axis size, both the perpective axis view icon and the top view axis icon move. I understand why the perpective icon moves but I don't see a reason why the top view icon should.
Ok. I can see your point now. But if you move your top view the icon wouldn't have enough room to rotate properly. I'll check how this works in 3ds.
fobsta wrote:Maybe the rotating view icon should be placed and locked into a position where it can not overlap the the text.
I tried this solution and didn't like it for some reason. I'll try again.
fobsta wrote:I hope I don't sound too negative - I really appreciate the work you are doing :D
Thanks! Don't worry, I do appreciate your comments, even if I don't agree with all of them: but my hope is to please as many users as possible! ;)

Posted: Tue Mar 21, 2006 10:51 am
by vizzy
fobsta wrote:
UncleZeiv wrote:Updated "rotating view icon" patch:
  • resizeable
  • user prefs (enable, resize)
  • object info moves so that it doesn't overlap
.
Is their a build that incorporates this patch?

h iall, i just updated and merged this patches to my verblender version :) (only for linux now)
(www.vizzy.de /?i=verblender)

great job done @uncle

Posted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 1:39 am
by UncleZeiv
Improved patches:
  • rotating view icon: now with brightness control, space saving and not "moving" object info text... that is, almost all requests from fobsta :)
  • user pref for Neo patch (show viewport name)
Image

Also included in the "UncleZeiv Easter Patch Pack":
  • delete keyframe patch, which adds a new menu (ALT+I) to delete the selected keyframe from selected objects
  • a tentative patch to add translation axis locking to the ipo window