Blender for windows console (dos) window?

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

rakka rage
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:14 pm

Blender for windows console (dos) window?

Post by rakka rage » Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:18 pm

i just got blender for windows and when i run it a dos/console/python box appears first and then the actual blender window appears..

is there any way to get rid of or disable this extra/useless window?

thanks

SirDude
Posts: 233
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:37 pm
Location: University of Minnesota (USA)
Contact:

Post by SirDude » Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:42 pm

No its there incase blender has issues, it will sometimes print error
messages to the console. Just ignore it and put it under the main blender window.

OTO
Posts: 60
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 8:51 pm
Contact:

Post by OTO » Thu Jan 26, 2006 9:39 pm

Useless window the "console"?
You should be slaped by a penguin :)

rakka rage
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 8:14 pm

Post by rakka rage » Thu Jan 26, 2006 10:55 pm

i did not mean to insult the penguin and his console... however... yes this console is useless and just takes up space... on the taskbar and in my task switching mechanism... it allows no input, and errors it reports

"Using Python version 2.4
'import site' failed; use -v for traceback"

could easily be reported using a dialog box? no one else wishes there was an option to get rid of or hide it? oh well thanks anyway

poutsa
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Munich (Germany)

Post by poutsa » Thu Jan 26, 2006 11:29 pm

...another option is to Press and Hold ALT Button and then Tabstop Button...to Open or Close the Console Window or to Jump to other Opening Applications so you can jump between these!




SeeYA


Vassilios Boucer

mchs3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Feb 03, 2005 6:05 am
Location: Loveland, CO

Post by mchs3d » Fri Jan 27, 2006 12:31 am

No, the window cannot be removed. It's part of the code, and removing it would take a literal rewrite of the entire system. Sorry, but you'll just have to get used to it like the rest of us. :wink:

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:23 am

is there any way to get rid of or disable this extra/useless window?
Another classic case of assuming everyone uses an application the same way you do!

Python scripts use the window to write all sorts of interesting and useful things. Not just detailed error messages, but things like progress messages when running importers and exporters. You would not want to close dozens of pop-ups from a long running script!

If your worst problem is an extra button on your taskbar, life ain't bad.

homebody
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 9:46 am

Post by homebody » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:30 am

thought it would be cool to have a console inside blender...
maybe as a new window type...

this separate console window makes blender look less 'professional' imho. But the coders are progressing so fast on the other side... I really don't have enough courage to ask for this kind of feature... :oops:

malCanDo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:44 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by malCanDo » Fri Jan 27, 2006 2:53 am

> thought it would be cool to have a console inside blender...
maybe as a new window type..

Now, that WOULD be cool! Especially when debugging Pythons scripts etc.


I think there is an option in Windows ( and probably other OS's ) API to open a window as hidden, maybe this could be an option after all.

Personally, I agree with it making Blender look a little bit less professional.

I'm used to it now, but it used to really bug me.

Mal

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by z3r0_d » Fri Jan 27, 2006 7:42 am

mchs3d wrote:No, the window cannot be removed. It's part of the code, and removing it would take a literal rewrite of the entire system. Sorry, but you'll just have to get used to it like the rest of us. :wink:
http://blender.org/forum/viewtopic.php?p=31015#31015

Ryz
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 4:31 am

Post by Ryz » Fri Jan 27, 2006 1:04 pm

Or make a shortcut to blender.exe and set the property of the shortcut to start minimized... Minimizes the console, but has no effect on the main window.

MC Escher
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2005 8:21 am

Post by MC Escher » Sat Jan 28, 2006 12:03 am

Or make it so that you can minimize the window to the system tray? Then you can always bring it up when you wonder wether it says something interesting, but it won't bother you either.

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by z3r0_d » Sat Jan 28, 2006 2:36 am

MC Escher wrote:Or make it so that you can minimize the window to the system tray? Then you can always bring it up when you wonder wether it says something interesting, but it won't bother you either.
considering that the console window isn't directly written into blender, I don't think that would be trivial

I'd much rather that "console" became a window type like in one of the tuhopuu versions.

poutsa
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2004 4:49 pm
Location: Munich (Germany)

Post by poutsa » Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:18 pm

Download this from here:
If you dont like the Windows Console!
http://p212.ezboard.com/fnendowingsmira ... 2642.topic

and place the 2 Exe files Blender only .exe and Tray in your Blenders Directory so Blender starts without Console Window if you Start from this Exe´s!!
If you Start Blender Tray.exe ....you see in the Taskbar a Symbol Blender logo if you click then you see the console!
but i dont use this because i need the Console Window!!Usefull!!!
Or i use only Tray.exe

seeYa

Vassilios

ZanQdo
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 4:57 am

Post by ZanQdo » Sat Feb 18, 2006 11:42 pm

ARRG leave the console alone and wish you know how to use it someday :evil: :evil:
:-) Hosting for your test builds:
GraphicAll.org

Post Reply