Promoting Blender, could use a hand.

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

unsettlingsilence

Promoting Blender, could use a hand.

Post by unsettlingsilence » Fri Feb 17, 2006 5:03 am

I am a computer teacher at an elementary school. I found Blender October of last year. Since then I have integrated blender into my curriculum and it is helping our kids to better learn geometry, math, and science. They are currently finishing up a lesson in which they have modeled the solar system. I would also like to use the game engine to create educational games. I have the blender 2.3 guide, and the gamekit, and am doing my best to absorb as much as I can as fast as I can. I am also working on learning to program in python.
Ok, here is my question, or request. One of my student's father is a fire fighter. I was talking to him and mentioned blender. I asked if maybe they could use it to create 3d scenarios for training purposes, and offered to introduce them to the program. They seem very interested. What I was wondering was if there was some script or setting in blender that would let me see the length and or position of a mesh/object in relation to a fixed point just by selecting it. For example, it would be useful to be able to create a wall, be it a plane, or a face in between vertices, and know that it is 4 in length or distance from point to point, and that those vertices are in (x, y, z) position from a fixed median point. It would be useful to know that a wall you have modeled is supposed to be 12 meters as opposed to another surface, which was modeled to be 5 meters in comparison. You could then, in theory follow a schematic of a real building and more easily get it right the first time. If you made a mistake, you could easily just check your measurements and positions.