Feature Request: Lock Timeline Pos/Zoom to Visually Match

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
bmud
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Contact:

Feature Request: Lock Timeline Pos/Zoom to Visually Match

Post by bmud » Wed Mar 29, 2006 5:49 pm

This feature request is quite simple, but doesn't deserve to go in the bug tracker because it is not really a bug, but more of an annoyance to me. I would like to welcome comments on whether annoyances qualify to be bugs or not too. Thanks in advance for reading, btw!

SO! Let's say I've made myself a loutout and I called it "audio sync". This imaginary layout is divided horizontally like so...

3d View
Audio Window
Timeline
Buttons Window

Now then, of course I can scale and scroll the timelines all I want, but what's more important to me is that they match up visually so that I can see:

-20 -10 0 10 20 30 40 50 |
-20 -10 0 10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90 100 110

Image

Instead of it becoming misaligned every time I adjust the view of one viewport, I'm curious if we could devise a way to have timeline windows allow linking with others on the layout?

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri » Thu Mar 30, 2006 9:39 am

I don't think annoyances qualify as bugs.
Anything that does not behaive according discription is a bug, since most of current features do not have a discription ( ;) ) it only is a bug if there is a drawing problem or crashes blender.
I'd say that alterations that make your life easier are new features.

One of thoose features could be windows scale alignment. This does not need to stop at timeline, it could also be 3d<>Ipo (One unit 3d is one unit IPO).

Because of the dynamic screensize in blender ( your HD layout will open in my 320x240 display and vice versa) it's pretty hard to get the screens pixel accurate.

matt_e
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 4:32 am
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by matt_e » Thu Mar 30, 2006 6:37 pm

there's an option in CVS in the view menu -> lock time to other windows. It does just this (well reasonably accurately) :)

bmud
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2004 8:13 am
Location: Raleigh, NC, USA
Contact:

Post by bmud » Fri Mar 31, 2006 8:40 pm

Neat! I'll have to go looking for that later. :D

Post Reply