Basic modelling issue; extremely annoying

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
maffooo
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:14 pm

Basic modelling issue; extremely annoying

Post by maffooo »

Hi all.

heres the issue: say i have a cube and i select 2 corner vertices on the same line and move it towards the body of itself, as soon as i move them both past the point of creating a triangle, flat surfaces stay top or bottom or both of the mesh from the triangle position. whats goin on with it?

z3r0_d
Posts: 289
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 2:38 am
Contact:

Post by z3r0_d »

what?

can you perhaps describe using pictures?

maffooo
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 11:14 pm

Post by maffooo »

sure, heres what a basic cube does when i move the 2 vertices into itself.

Image

89ers
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 12:42 am
Location: Annecy, French Alps
Contact:

Post by 89ers »

maffooo wrote:sure, heres what a basic cube does when i move the 2 vertices into itself.

Image
And what did you expect it would do ?

I can try in another software (i.e. LightWave), but i'm pretty sure i'll have the same behavior...

Regards,
Laurent aka Tartiflette :D

t3d
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 27, 2005 4:06 pm
Location: Sweden

Post by t3d »

This is how it looks in blender compared to silo.

Blender
Image

Silo
Image

(this should belong to 'Interface & Tools' section, right?)

regards
/t3d

roofoo
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:38 am
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by roofoo »

You can't have concave quad faces in blender, meaning a "c" shape. you'll have to make the top and bottom faces into triangles. (select face & press ctrl-T)

Like this:

Image

IanCalvert
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Feb 29, 2004 8:12 pm

Post by IanCalvert »

It depends on which vertices you move.

If you move two and they do what you see, move two that are adjacent to it.
ou can't have concave quad faces in blender, meaning a "c" shape. you'll have to make the top and bottom faces into triangles. (select face & press ctrl-T)
You can, it just depends on what you move:
Image

roofoo
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 4:38 am
Location: North Carolina, USA
Contact:

Post by roofoo »

It depends on which vertices you move.

If you move two and they do what you see, move two that are adjacent to it.
Ahhh, that's interesting, I did not know that. You learn something new everyday.... Thanks!

Post Reply