FEATURE REQUEST: comma (,) also useable as decimal point

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
FastEddy
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:51 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

FEATURE REQUEST: comma (,) also useable as decimal point

Post by FastEddy » Fri Jun 23, 2006 2:42 pm

for the many german users (me too) with german keyboard and key layout it would be very great, when the comma (,) would also be accepted by the gui as decimal separator like the point (.) - because then they could use the numpad for value input without having to jump to the point-key on the other part of the keyboard.

possible to implement that?

fasteddy
[D X I . s t u d i o s] --- [ Join my current project: SF2 Intro-Animation ]

alelink
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 12:49 am
Location: Italy
Contact:

Post by alelink » Fri Jun 23, 2006 4:31 pm

oh, yes please implements this!!
I'm in Italy, but I'm on a Mac, so we have the comma in the keypad too!

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Fri Jun 23, 2006 6:59 pm

Mapping numpad point to comma sounds like a job for the xmodmap utility. At least when running X.

kAinStein
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 3:08 pm

Post by kAinStein » Mon Jun 26, 2006 1:48 pm

stiv wrote:Mapping numpad point to comma sounds like a job for the xmodmap utility. At least when running X.
It's less a matter of keymapping as of l10n. In many (if not most) countries a comma is used as decimal separator, so it makes sense and shouldn't be hard at all to do so...

FastEddy
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Oct 07, 2005 6:51 pm
Location: Siegen, Germany
Contact:

Post by FastEddy » Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:52 am

kAinStein wrote:
stiv wrote:Mapping numpad point to comma sounds like a job for the xmodmap utility. At least when running X.
It's less a matter of keymapping as of l10n. In many (if not most) countries a comma is used as decimal separator, so it makes sense and shouldn't be hard at all to do so...
nevertheless it's quite a big problem for all these people using windows.
perhaps it could be done by a routine in the numbutton-code which simply changes comma char - if found - into a point.

fasteddy
[D X I . s t u d i o s] --- [ Join my current project: SF2 Intro-Animation ]

wavk
Posts: 126
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 9:58 am
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by wavk » Thu Jun 29, 2006 1:50 pm

Yes I'm having trouble with this as well, couldn't find a system preference for changing it to a dot... quite bugging

Post Reply