VRML 2.0 (VRML97) import...?

Scripting in Blender with Python, and working on the API

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

mgibert
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:20 am

VRML 2.0 (VRML97) import...?

Post by mgibert » Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:30 am

Hi every body!!!

Does anyone know the status of this format import?

Is there a script already available ?
The only project I found (http://projects.blender.org/projects/vrmlimportexp/) seems to be dead...

Thanks a lot in advance,

Mathieu

Edge
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:25 pm

Post by Edge » Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:32 pm

Hi mgibert,

you can try the script, that you can find here under the
point "VRML97-Import". I wrote this script during a practical project.

Please let me know, what experiences you made with it,

Edge[/url]

mgibert
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Nov 02, 2007 11:20 am

I am going crazy!!!!! HELP ME ON VRML97 IMPORT... PLEASE....

Post by mgibert » Tue Nov 13, 2007 6:13 pm

Edge wrote:Hi mgibert,

you can try the script, that you can find here under the
point "VRML97-Import". I wrote this script during a practical project.

Please let me know, what experiences you made with it,

Edge[/url]
Hi !!!
And first I want to thank you!!!

But second I also want to say I am desperate...

indeed your script doesn't work... And no one else replied to this topic...

Here is what I have done :
I first tried with the model that interests me (20Mo exported from "solid edge"), it doesn't work... And then I just did the following stupid test :
Create a new file with blender (with the famous cube), export it to WRML97 with blender and then try to import it again with your script.
And here is the console output :

Code: Select all

 
ParserSyntaxError: Failed parsing production "BackgroundGroundColor" @pos 325 (~line 16:14).
Expected syntax: MFColor
Got text: '0.0565629 0.2208154 0.4\n\tskyColor 0.0565629 0.2208'
Finished parsing 0 characters of 1994 in 0.144196987152 seconds (0.0cps).
What do you think about that...????????

Is someone else in the Blender Universe has an idea on how to import a VRML97 (=VRML2.0) file?????

Thanks a lot to every one!!!! in particular to Edge of course!!!!

SeeU
Mat

fiepel
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2006 1:13 am

VRML 97 Import

Post by fiepel » Mon Nov 19, 2007 7:01 pm

Hi,

I have been looking for a VRML import function myself, but never been successful. I am kind of surprised that nobody ever made this work, since VRML is not a very hard format to translate from. So I gues we are out of luck for the moment.

What I would really want is to be able to export a 3DS Max file with animation, so I can re-render it in blender. VRML seems to me the most viable option, since it supports most of what I want and is an "open" standard.

If anybody has another idea to export from Max into blender, let me know.

Fiepel

Caronte
Posts: 521
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Post by Caronte » Mon Nov 19, 2007 8:33 pm

Try Blender Publisher 2.25: http://www.blender.org/download/get-ble ... -versions/

Open your vrml and save a .blend with it, then open the .blend with the current Blender version.
Caronte.
"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"
http://www.nicodigital.com

Edge
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 2:25 pm

Post by Edge » Fri Jan 18, 2008 8:35 pm

Hi mgibert,

I know, it's a little bit to late. but ...

Can you please send me the VRML97-File, or the part of it, were it went wrong, so that I can debug the script?

If you would agree to this, please say it in this forum. I'll be often online on this forum the next time. I would then give you an E-Mail-Address, were you can send the script to.

Edge

ozewolf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:29 am
Location: Australia

VRML 2

Post by ozewolf » Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:39 am

Caronte wrote:Try Blender Publisher 2.25: http://www.blender.org/download/get-ble ... -versions/

Open your vrml and save a .blend with it, then open the .blend with the current Blender version.
:)
Hi I use ArchiCAd which outputs VRML 2
I tried your suggestion out of curiosity but it only recognizes VRML 1 as i would have expected.
I do not have an option to export as VRML1 which is an earlier format.
If anyone has had success with VRML 2 please Post.
Also i noticed that the builds is being shut down Does this mean Blender is decline? :cry:
OSX 10.5
ArchiCAD 11
Blender Learner

Hombre
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Nancy - FRANCE

Re: VRML 2

Post by Hombre » Mon Apr 21, 2008 2:39 pm

@ozewolf

I had success with VRML2, with a Python script of mine, but as you'll see here, normals are not handled correctly in Blender (yet to be confirmed, i'm currently upgrading my script to use Mesh objects instead of NMesh).

ozewolf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:29 am
Location: Australia

Re: VRML 2

Post by ozewolf » Tue Apr 22, 2008 7:07 am

Hombre wrote:@ozewolf

I had success with VRML2, with a Python script of mine, but as you'll see here, normals are not handled correctly in Blender (yet to be confirmed, i'm currently upgrading my script to use Mesh objects instead of NMesh).
Hi Hombre
Great i would like to get this vrml2 working (can blender import U3d or IFC)? i will need to spend the time to learn the program properly.
good to get a reply
Thought it was Dead.
OSX 10.5
ArchiCAD 11
Blender Learner

Hombre
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Nancy - FRANCE

Re: VRML 2

Post by Hombre » Tue Apr 22, 2008 9:12 am

@ozewolf

Well, it certainly is. That's why i've wrote one myself from scratch. I'm upgrading it for the 2.45 release, it's not functionnal for the moment, but it will be, at least to retrieve meshes. But don't expect to retrieve animations.

ozewolf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:29 am
Location: Australia

Re: VRML 2

Post by ozewolf » Tue Apr 22, 2008 11:59 pm

Hombre wrote:@ozewolf

Well, it certainly is. That's why i've wrote one myself from scratch. I'm upgrading it for the 2.45 release, it's not functionnal for the moment, but it will be, at least to retrieve meshes. But don't expect to retrieve animations.
I just want to get the model in to start with that will be a bonus at this point then i don't really want to purchase C4D to do that.
OSX 10.5
ArchiCAD 11
Blender Learner

Hombre
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Nancy - FRANCE

A good VRML2.0 import script

Post by Hombre » Fri Apr 25, 2008 12:56 am

I have finally found one ! (only have to search a bit :D )

Download it and install its dependencies, and Python V2.5.x and it should work. Maybe you'll have to correct one line of code to make it work:

at line #2253, replace "Euler([])" by "Euler([0.,0.,0.])"

It work for me, at least. I can delete my script now, this one is way more complete :oops:

ozewolf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:29 am
Location: Australia

Re: A good VRML2.0 import script

Post by ozewolf » Fri Apr 25, 2008 7:00 am

Hi
this all sounds like it should work but i am stuck on this Python scripts Dir thing * where to put it) Have done exactly as explained on my MAC Presuming it works the same as linux but i only get a python script error.
Not knowing any scripting Can you Advise where i am going wrong


To add the Script to Blender it is just necessary to copy the Python-File into the Scripts-Folder of
Blender.
Under Linux, you
can find out the location of the folder by the following procedure:
· Open a File-Editor-Window in Blender
· Open a new file and type in the following Script:
import Blender
print Blender.Get(‘scriptsdir’)
· Run the script by pressing <Alt>+<P>. The path of the Script-Folder is then printed out on
the console.


· If None is printed out, then you have to set the Python-Scripts-Directory in the User-
Preferences-Window of Blender. It can be found by dragging-down the upper menu bar and
pressing the “File Paths”-Button. The corresponding edit box is labeled with “Python:”.

much Appreciated
OSX 10.5
ArchiCAD 11
Blender Learner

Hombre
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Sep 24, 2006 1:04 am
Location: Nancy - FRANCE

Re: A good VRML2.0 import script

Post by Hombre » Fri Apr 25, 2008 9:16 am

@ozewolf

The answer may be here

ozewolf
Posts: 8
Joined: Sun Mar 30, 2008 12:29 am
Location: Australia

Re: A good VRML2.0 import script

Post by ozewolf » Fri Apr 25, 2008 11:55 am

Hombre wrote:@ozewolf

The answer may be here
Ok i got the script in the hidden dir/script folder & installed texttools script
? what do i install from the SimpleParse-2.1.0a1 folder
I cd to the dir but what do i install

$ sudo setup.py
Password:
sudo: setup.py: command not found

Lot of learning to do obviously
OSX 10.5
ArchiCAD 11
Blender Learner

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests