Page 1 of 2

Feature requests

Posted: Tue Jan 06, 2004 10:37 am
by S68
Ok, I know that usually when you propose new features
you get the 'code them in yourself' kind of answer.

I might try to do it, but, well, I would like to discuss it before.

1 - Remove Doubles. It is me unable to find it in the doc or we are still lacking a remove doubles function for mesh vertices?

2 - Noise functions.
I'm currently using CGkit noise.dll for my scripts, and users says that it is a pain (and they are right) RipSting uses eeshlo's dnoise.dll which is nice but again it is external. Many other people, including Beast developers needs Perlin Noise and its derivatives.

Any chanche of building a cool set of noise functions *in* Blender?

Thanx

Stefano

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 11:04 am
by ascotan
I think that it would be good to add some perlin noise generators. It seems that there are some perlin noise generators imbedded in blender itself. They are used to create the marble, wood, clouds etc. as procedural textures, but they could be used to create 3D as well. Hopefully they'll show up in a blender math lib. Please share any ideas you have.

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 4:37 pm
by levon
[quote= "s68"]1 - Remove Doubles. It is me unable to find it in the doc or we are still lacking a remove doubles function for mesh vertices?
[/quote]

there is remove doubles already, press W, and the distance can be set in the edit buttons in the limit slider, next to the rem doubles button :)

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:06 pm
by SirDude
s68 was talking about these things in the python interface, I'm pretty sure both are missing but would probably be pretty straight forward and easy to do.

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 5:09 pm
by levon
oh right, whops i didnt look at what topic it was in :oops:

Posted: Wed Jan 07, 2004 8:35 pm
by eeshlo
Well, surprisingly it only took me a few minutes adapting the original dynoise module to be included in Blender as Blender.Noise, works great, no problems at all (on my Linux system at least, but in this case I can't imagine any problems for other platforms). So, if there is any real interest in this, I can offer the dynoise module. Of course I would have to make some cosmetic changes, but that shouldn't take long. And it would of course be nice to use some of the noise functions as extra procedural textures in Blender as well, shouldn't be difficult either.

Posted: Thu Jan 08, 2004 1:01 pm
by Michel
Eeshlo,

Could you send the new Python module to the bf-python list? All Blender Python developers are (supposed to be) subscribed to that list. There we can have a look at it and maybe suggest improvements/changes.
In case you want to know, the bf-python list is currently low traffic (2 or 3 mails at most per day), so your module will certainly get attention ;)

With regards,
Michel

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 6:49 am
by eeshlo
I will send it, first have to change the python function names and doc strings to the blender 'standard'. Also the noise functions themselves will be included in Blender for textures, this is going to take a bit longer to do.
I have been following developments in the blender python mailing list for some time. I haven't subscribed yet as I did not have anything to submit or had the time to do python stuff.

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 8:20 am
by Michel
That's great Eeshlo! Thanks for the update. I'm looking forward to seeing your mail on the bf-python mail list :)

With regards,
Michel

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2004 10:59 am
by S68
3 Hurrah! For eeshlo :)

Stefano

Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 2:15 pm
by S68
Posting here just to push thread upwards and see if eeshlo has news :)


Stefano

Posted: Mon Feb 23, 2004 11:32 pm
by eeshlo
Yes, sorry Stefano, but I have not been working all that much on it, so a lot of delay, I promise though it will be relased for 2.33.
The python module itself is no problem whatsoever. It is the texture stuff that is a bit problematic and boring work. The results are not very exiting, I get distracted easily by other things, like Blender/yafray feature requests and request for scripts I get by email. Implementing the new noise functions in Blender has been somewhat of a problem, I don't think the result as it is now will be that radically different from what is currently available in Blender. Since Blender does not do AA at the pixel level, aliasing is also a bit of problem, some of which can be overcome, but still the result is not spectacular. And seeing that more and more complaints arise about rendering speed, some of the new procedurals will only add to that (especially the voronoi/minkovsky combination, horribly slow).
I also have problems with the user interface, not the interface itself but the naming of parameters, it is a bit hard coming up with something userfriendly, how do I 'translate' things like lacunarity/gain/offset/H/distance metric/ etc...

Besides all that, I'm having compile problems since the new scons build...

I have to finish it soon though, other things coming up in real life that will prevent me from coding for some time again...

edit: 'voronoi/minkovsky'... must sound like a horribly boring science/physics theory or something, very exciting to the average Blender user I'm sure... (yawn...)...

Posted: Tue Feb 24, 2004 9:08 am
by kencanvey
eeshlo:

Sorry if this seems a bit of a dim suggestion, but as to the naming of controls, I gather that lacunarity is smooth n rough? or gaps n pits? just an idea but could you not use small pictures at either end of the scale to show the effect? I don't know if this is possible in GUI.


Ken :)

Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 5:32 am
by eeshlo
kencanvey wrote: Sorry if this seems a bit of a dim suggestion, but as to the naming of controls, I gather that lacunarity is smooth n rough? or gaps n pits? just an idea but could you not use small pictures at either end of the scale to show the effect? I don't know if this is possible in GUI.
Well, the problem is that basically all of those parameters affect smoothness/roughness in some way. The 'lacunarity' parameter for the musgrave procedurals basically controls the scaling of the noise frequency per octave. I could call it 'frequency scale' or something but that would still be just as confusing to most I think.
In Blender the texture preview always updates after any parameter change btw.

Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 12:17 pm
by S68
No problem!

Don't worry & take your time :)

Anyhow I will really need only a float value, I won't use textures, all the mapping is made by my script ;)

Stefano