Page 1 of 1

Python Script Converting?

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 9:42 pm
by dandeloreon1984
I am wondering how to convert an old python script to the current verson of blender...

the current problem i see is that the current version gives the error,

No module named Win32com.Client.

The scripts i am converting are Export Scripts, Import Scripts, and both import and export scripts.

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 9:54 pm
by theeth
Win32Com comes with ActivePython for Win32 (if I remember correctly). You'll have to make sure your ActivePython version matches the Python version you are using with Blender (2.2.3 is you best bet).

Martin

Posted: Thu Feb 05, 2004 10:33 pm
by dandeloreon1984
Ok, I have The Active python Source downloads... I have blender 2.3.2, and I am wondering how to install it on windoes XP with Python 2.3

Posted: Fri Feb 06, 2004 7:07 pm
by Michel
dandeloreon1984 wrote:Ok, I have The Active python Source downloads... I have blender 2.3.2, and I am wondering how to install it on windoes XP with Python 2.3
Hi,

Precompiled blender versions don't suport Python 2.3 yet. You'll have to get Python 2.2.x (with x being any number 1,2,3). There's a good sticky thread over at Elysiun for information how to get Python working on most platforms - including windows. Click here for a quick link.

With regards,
Michel

Posted: Fri Feb 20, 2004 11:41 pm
by dandeloreon1984
Thanks for the help, but i found a new script that i need to make accessable, but it is made for blender 2.28.

I am wondering what needs to be done for that script so far it uses the following imprts...
#import string
#import os
#import struct

...

import math
import Blender
#import Blender210
an example scipt i want to convert is here....
http://users.durge.org/~andyc/3d/ase-export-filter.html

I know this mutch, it has it's own gui calls... I hope to be able to make it work without modifying it, because it makes the obj file format import and export.

Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 9:50 pm
by dandeloreon1984
I am almost done converting the script... I will post it online somewhere, and make it available.

The script is over the file format ASE.

Posted: Wed Feb 25, 2004 10:13 pm
by SirDude
Best thing for a case like this is contact the author
and or provide them with the update.

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 3:59 pm
by mmelo
dandeloreon1984 wrote:I am almost done converting the script... I will post it online somewhere, and make it available.

The script is over the file format ASE.
Yesterday I started looking into this exporter too. Had a play around and managed to get it to run in 2.32, but since it was a simple 3d model, my guess is it did not visit most of the codepaths...

If you want I can give you my version... if you have yours complete I would love to have it too!

Please let me know.

NOTE: There is a newer version of that script at http://www.geocities.com/swdoughty/ExportASEIIv1.1.txt - you may want to work from there....

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 5:42 pm
by dandeloreon1984
mmelo wrote:
dandeloreon1984 wrote:I am almost done converting the script... I will post it online somewhere, and make it available.

The script is over the file format ASE.
Yesterday I started looking into this exporter too. Had a play around and managed to get it to run in 2.32, but since it was a simple 3d model, my guess is it did not visit most of the codepaths...

If you want I can give you my version... if you have yours complete I would love to have it too!

Please let me know.

NOTE: There is a newer version of that script at http://www.geocities.com/swdoughty/ExportASEIIv1.1.txt - you may want to work from there....
Sort of funny, but my script is bassed on this one, but add features from current scripts... Right now i am nearing compleation...

I have to define the object tab, or get rid of it.

Right now it has a specify where it goes feature, and is simple to operate.

Oh, By the way, all I am doing right now is fixing the syntax, and then i am done.

Posted: Thu Feb 26, 2004 5:43 pm
by dandeloreon1984
SirDude wrote:Best thing for a case like this is contact the author
and or provide them with the update.
i tried, but the email address is bad.



My progress will be posted on my site when i upload it...