Python and Blener error - Help

Scripting in Blender with Python, and working on the API

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
voolger
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:15 am

Python and Blener error - Help

Post by voolger »

Hello everybody,

I am new to blender but encounter the following problem based on missing python modules. This also affects the use of blender plugins which need to have these python modules. I save the sys_info text file and provide you with the containing information. how do I get these modules and more importantly how to install them on my system.

Can somebody help me to solve this problem? :?:

SysSpecs:
900Mhz 620MB-Ram 40GB-HD
MacOSX 10.2.8
Python: Version: 2.3.2 (#1, Nov 15 2004, 19:42:52)
[GCC 3.1 20020420 (prerelease)]
Blender 2.35


Here starts the sys_info.txt :arrow:

====================================
= Blender 235 System Information =
====================================


Platform: darwin
========

Python:
======

- Version: 2.3.2 (#1, Nov 15 2004, 19:42:52)
[GCC 3.1 20020420 (prerelease)]

- Path:

/sw/lib/python23.zip
/sw/lib/python2.3/
/sw/lib/python2.3/plat-darwin
/sw/lib/python2.3/plat-mac
/sw/lib/python2.3/plat-mac/lib-scriptpackages
/sw/lib/python2.3/lib-tk
/sw/lib/lib-dynload
/Applications/My Tools/Graphic/Blender_2004/Blender 2.35/Blender.app/Contents/MacOS
/Applications/My Tools/Graphic/Blender_2004/Blender 2.35/Blender.app/Contents/MacOS/.blender/scripts

- Default folder for registered scripts:

/Applications/My Tools/Graphic/Blender_2004/Blender 2.35/Blender.app/Contents/MacOS/.blender/scripts/

<WARNING>:

Some expected modules were not found.
Because of that some scripts bundled with Blender may not work.
Please read the FAQ in the Readme.html file shipped with Blender
for information about how to fix the problem.

The missing modules:
-> chunk
-> colorsys
-> copy
-> copy_reg
-> gzip
-> os
-> random
-> repr
-> stat
-> string
-> StringIO
-> types
-> UserDict
-> webbrowser
-> whrandom
-> zlib
-> math

OpenGL:
======

- Renderer: ATI Radeon 7500 OpenGL Engine
- Vendor: ATI Technologies Inc.
- Version: 1.3 ATI-1.2.26

- Extensions:

GL_ARB_transpose_matrix GL_ARB_vertex_program GL_ARB_vertex_blend
GL_ARB_window_pos GL_EXT_multi_draw_arrays GL_EXT_clip_volume_hint
GL_EXT_rescale_normal GL_EXT_draw_range_elements GL_EXT_fog_coord
GL_APPLE_client_storage GL_APPLE_specular_vector
GL_APPLE_transform_hint GL_APPLE_packed_pixels GL_APPLE_fence
GL_APPLE_vertex_array_object GL_APPLE_vertex_program_evaluators
GL_APPLE_element_array GL_NV_texgen_reflection
GL_NV_light_max_exponent GL_IBM_rasterpos_clip GL_SGIS_generate_mipmap
GL_APPLE_texture_range GL_APPLE_vertex_array_range GL_APPLE_ycbcr_422
GL_ARB_multisample GL_ARB_multitexture GL_ARB_texture_border_clamp
GL_ARB_texture_compression GL_ARB_texture_cube_map
GL_ARB_texture_env_add GL_ARB_texture_env_combine
GL_ARB_texture_env_dot3 GL_ARB_texture_mirrored_repeat
GL_ATI_array_rev_comps_in_4_bytes GL_ATI_texture_env_combine3
GL_ATI_texture_mirror_once GL_EXT_abgr GL_EXT_bgra
GL_EXT_compiled_vertex_array GL_EXT_secondary_color
GL_EXT_texture_compression_s3tc GL_EXT_texture_env_add
GL_EXT_texture_lod_bias GL_EXT_texture_rectangle
GL_EXT_texture_filter_anisotropic GL_SGIS_texture_lod
GL_SGIS_texture_edge_clamp GL_NV_fog_distance


- Simplistic almost useless benchmark:

Redrawing all areas 10 times took 1.57218003273 seconds.

(*) Found 1 warning, documented in the text above.

ascotan
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 10:32 pm
Location: Maryland, U.S.

Post by ascotan »

Sounds to me like you either don't have python installed or you haven't set your pythonpath correctly. I'd check the python forum at elysiun.com they should have a sticky regarding python paths.

voolger
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:15 am

reply 001

Post by voolger »

Hi ascotan,

I think the last issue could be right. no correct python path. I am sure that I have installed Python.
Python: Version: 2.3.2 (#1, Nov 15 2004, 19:42:52)
[GCC 3.1 20020420 (prerelease)]

I don't really know how to set the python path in MacOSX 10.2.8, which is rather sad :cry: , because it prevents me from using good and usefull function from within Blender.

voolger

ascotan
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 10:32 pm
Location: Maryland, U.S.

Post by ascotan »

Blender is linked to python 2.3 currently and it would be the 'best' if your were using python 2.3.

I found a mac + python wiki that might help you.

http://pythonmac.org/wiki/FAQ

voolger
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:15 am

Thanks

Post by voolger »

Hi ascotan,
Thanks for the provided link. I will have a go and try to see what i can do to solve my problem.

voolger

joeri
Posts: 96
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2003 6:41 pm
Contact:

Post by joeri »

From that site:

How do I set Python related environment variables such as PYTHONPATH in MacOS X?

To set environment variables, put them into your ~/.MacOSX/environment.plist file. See Setting environment variables for user processes for some details. Since items with "dot-names" like the .MacOSX directory do not display in the finder, you need to use a command-line editor or an editor that can display hidden directories/files such as BBEdit, or you may temporarily display dot-names using a utility like OnyX and then edit the environment.plist file with a standard text editor. There is a preference pane named RCEnvironment (search Versiontracker) that will display and edit the environment.plist file from System Preferences, though editing long strings is still more convenient in a text editor.

In the environment.plist file, multiple paths in the PYTHONPATH should be separated with a colon.

voolger
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:15 am

Still no positive result

Post by voolger »

Hello,

I created the environment.plist file and the following file was createdt in Blender:


====================================
= Blender 235 System Information =
====================================


Platform: darwin
========

Python:
======

- Version: 2.3.2 (#1, Nov 15 2004, 19:42:52)
[GCC 3.1 20020420 (prerelease)]

- Path:

/usr/local/bin;/usr/lib/python2.2;/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.3;/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.3/bin;/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.3/lib/python2.3;/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.3/Mac/Tools/IDE
/sw/lib/python23.zip
/sw/lib/python2.3/
/sw/lib/python2.3/plat-darwin
/sw/lib/python2.3/plat-mac
/sw/lib/python2.3/plat-mac/lib-scriptpackages
/sw/lib/python2.3/lib-tk
/sw/lib/lib-dynload
/Users/volker/Desktop/Blender 2.35/Blender.app/Contents/MacOS
/Users/volker/Desktop/Blender 2.35/Blender.app/Contents/MacOS/.blender/scripts

- Default folder for registered scripts:

/Users/volker/Desktop/Blender 2.35/Blender.app/Contents/MacOS/.blender/scripts/

<WARNING>:

Some expected modules were not found.
Because of that some scripts bundled with Blender may not work.
Please read the FAQ in the Readme.html file shipped with Blender
for information about how to fix the problem.

The missing modules:
-> chunk
-> colorsys
-> copy
-> copy_reg
-> gzip
-> os
-> random
-> repr
-> stat
-> string
-> StringIO
-> types
-> UserDict
-> webbrowser
-> whrandom
-> zlib
-> math


Can somebody help me? I really dont know how to get the missing modules on my mac. And I do not have a folder hierachy based on sw/lib/python. I have installed MacPython 2.3.3. - MacosX 10.2.4

voolger

theeth
Posts: 500
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 5:47 am
Location: Montreal
Contact:

Post by theeth »

Seems like it's missing the lib dir in your path list:

/sw/lib/python2.3/lib/

With that, it should work.

Martin
Life is what happens to you when you're busy making other plans.
- John Lennon

sgefant
Posts: 30
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 1:10 am

Post by sgefant »

Blender for OS X 10.2 has been built with the python version from fink, which by default gets installed in /sw/lib/python2.3. As you're using MacPython, you could try the OS X 10.3 version of blender (10.3 ships with MacPython).

sgefant

voolger
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:15 am

Thanks guys (:-))

Post by voolger »

I will have a go to try your suggestion to solye my problems.
Not all of them :wink: - but just the blender ones.

voolger

voolger
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 15, 2005 11:15 am

Thanks for help

Post by voolger »

Thank you for the tip to use Blender 2.36 for OSX 10.3 under my current system with OSX 10.2. It worked. I am able to use python scripts now.
But I can not render :cry: with Blender 2.36 for OSX 10.3 under OSX 10.2. Blender crashes. No wonder ehh.

But I had an idea to overcome this issue. I import or create the desired objects in Blender 2.36 for OSX 10.3 by using the python scripts, save the .blend file for re-opening and finally for rendering in Blender 2.36 for OSX 10.2.
It is a solution that works for me.

Anyway thanks for your help guys.
voolger

ascotan
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 10:32 pm
Location: Maryland, U.S.

Post by ascotan »

Crashing is not good maybe you should submit a bug report for the apple team.

Post Reply