Guides for compiling Blender

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

kestion
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2011 8:13 am

Re: video guide build blender 2.5x

Post by kestion » Tue Aug 30, 2011 9:17 pm

The Vimeo actually had the best resolution for me. Thanks.

candre
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:14 am

win7 x64 build - trunk

Post by candre » Fri Nov 18, 2011 1:51 am

Hi all

im following this guide:

Building x64 targets with Visual C++ 2008 Express:
It's possible to build 64 bit versions of Blender using Visual C++ express from microsoft, and windows 7 x64 editions

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... 08_Express
---------------------
And then this step:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... msvc/Scons

This is how to build Blender from its SVN source using Microsoft compiler with Scons. Except if specifically noted you can use the free Microsoft Visual C++ Express instead of the full Microsoft Visual Studio.
------------------
I trying to compile using cycles with CUDA so i learn

Building Cycles:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... s/Building

And about CUDA:

Download the CUDA Toolkit and install, and make sure you have recent enough nvidia drivers (e.g. 270.X or newer)


Everything works fine... no errors... but


when i select cycles > render > display

only can see CPU option

no GPU option... no CUDA


What im doing wrong ?

any help is welcome

-----------
user-config.py

WITH_BF_FFMPEG = True
WITH_BF_GAMEENGINE = True
WITH_BF_BULLET = True
WITH_BF_PLAYER = True
WITH_BF_ODE = False
WITH_BF_OPENEXR = True
WITH_BF_FTGL = True
WITH_BF_FMOD = False
WITH_BF_FREETYPE = True
WITH_BF_COLLADA = True
WITH_BF_BOOST = True
WITH_BF_CYCLES = True
WITH_CYCLES_CUDA_BINARIES = True
WITH_BF_DDS = True
WITH_BF_OPENAL = True
WITH_BF_SDL = True
WITH_BF_ICONV = True
WITH_BF_FFTW3 = False
WITH_BUILDINFO = True
WITH_BF_RAYOPTIMIZATION = True
BF_DEBUG = False
BF_NUMJOBS = 5

WITH_BF_OPENMP = False

mcleary
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Re: win7 x64 build - trunk

Post by mcleary » Mon Jan 07, 2013 1:56 am

candre wrote:Hi all

im following this guide:

Building x64 targets with Visual C++ 2008 Express:
It's possible to build 64 bit versions of Blender using Visual C++ express from microsoft, and windows 7 x64 editions

http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... 08_Express
---------------------
And then this step:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... msvc/Scons

This is how to build Blender from its SVN source using Microsoft compiler with Scons. Except if specifically noted you can use the free Microsoft Visual C++ Express instead of the full Microsoft Visual Studio.
------------------
I trying to compile using cycles with CUDA so i learn

Building Cycles:
http://wiki.blender.org/index.php/Dev:2 ... s/Building

And about CUDA:

Download the CUDA Toolkit and install, and make sure you have recent enough nvidia drivers (e.g. 270.X or newer)


Everything works fine... no errors... but


when i select cycles > render > display

only can see CPU option

no GPU option... no CUDA


What im doing wrong ?

any help is welcome

-----------
user-config.py

WITH_BF_FFMPEG = True
WITH_BF_GAMEENGINE = True
WITH_BF_BULLET = True
WITH_BF_PLAYER = True
WITH_BF_ODE = False
WITH_BF_OPENEXR = True
WITH_BF_FTGL = True
WITH_BF_FMOD = False
WITH_BF_FREETYPE = True
WITH_BF_COLLADA = True
WITH_BF_BOOST = True
WITH_BF_CYCLES = True
WITH_CYCLES_CUDA_BINARIES = True
WITH_BF_DDS = True
WITH_BF_OPENAL = True
WITH_BF_SDL = True
WITH_BF_ICONV = True
WITH_BF_FFTW3 = False
WITH_BUILDINFO = True
WITH_BF_RAYOPTIMIZATION = True
BF_DEBUG = False
BF_NUMJOBS = 5

WITH_BF_OPENMP = False
Open the User Preferences (Ctrl Alt U), go to System and then choose a Device in the Compute Device section. Be sure to select your graphics card.

After this, GPU Compute option will be available in the Render Panel.
Anyday, anytime, anywhere

theugly
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:40 am

Post by theugly » Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:52 am

what does it mean if my graphic card is not listed?

mcleary
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 7:54 pm
Location: Brazil

Post by mcleary » Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:22 pm

theugly wrote:what does it mean if my graphic card is not listed?
It probably means your GPU doesn't support CUDA.

Which graphics card do you have?
Anyday, anytime, anywhere

Post Reply