Building with scons

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Building with scons

Post by ideasman »

How do I build blender with scons under linux?
Im using the cvs if that makes any difference.

alien-xmp
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2003 2:22 pm
Location: Wellington, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by alien-xmp »

1. Download and install scons from http://www.scons.org/download.html
2. From your blender source directory, run 'scons'
3. When scons says 'scons: done reading SConscript files.' hit Ctrl-C
4. Edit the config.opts file.
5. Run scons again.

ideasman
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2003 2:37 pm

Post by ideasman »

Thanks, got it working.

I was unable to build using the makefiles because it was trying to build the game engine in (looking for solid.h)- That I dont have.
Even though the game engine was disabled in the config files (as far as I could see anyway)

- Cam

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

ideasman wrote:I was unable to build using the makefiles because it was trying to build the game engine in (looking for solid.h)- That I dont have.
if you've checked out bf-blender CVS you _do_ have solid. Look in the extern directory. It has a solid directory with some subdirectories, among others SOLID, which contains three header files necessary for building: SOLID.h, SOLID_types.h and SOLID_broad.h

/jesterKing

Michaelv
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 8:20 pm

Post by Michaelv »

scons is set up to build the gameengine, but the makefiles have lagged behind, I think that is being addressed though.

I'd add one step to alien-xmp's list, let scons run until it fails then address the config.opts file, scons may work without help. If it doesn't it will pick backup at the point of failure, and you'll know what to edit.

emack
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri May 23, 2003 1:53 am

Which SCONS?

Post by emack »

Do you need the full SCONS package, or can you use the scons-local package on the download page?

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing »

You should be able to use the scons-local package - but that is as full as the full package.

/jesterKing

Michel
Posts: 180
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 7:27 pm
Location: Somewhere below the rivers in Holland (but not Limburg)

Post by Michel »

ideasman wrote:Even though the game engine was disabled in the config files (as far as I could see anyway)
Hi,

true, the game engine is disabled by default in the config.opts file. To enable it, just set BUILD_GAMEENGINE='true' and USE_PHYSICS='solid'.
If you want sound enabled in the game engine, set USE_OPENAL='true'. Note that you may have to update some library linking when using OpenAL. The default libs and libpath for OpenAL are very minimal - but work on my system.

With regards,
Michel
You can have one of two things: Progress or Progress Reports.

Post Reply