bf-blender/linux i386 (2004/12/09) 2.36 RC2

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

Saluk wrote:How come the link is still 2.35a ?
cause I was lazy enough not to rename it...sorry :) will do ...

Mats78
Posts: 100
Joined: Thu Oct 17, 2002 5:06 pm
Location: Vantaa, Finland

Post by Mats78 »

@Mats78

you mean select loops edge/faces in Blender ?

if you use KDE it can be cumbersome with alt+rmb...

try to use alt+ctrl+rmb works for me in KDE 3.2.3
Umm.. that too, but I meant the selection box when objects overlap. Seems alt+mouse won't work at all (yes I use KDE but the same happens on fluxbox too). Can you tell why this is? alt+ctrl+mouse works, so does alt+shift+mouse.

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

simple!

it is because settings in KDE (and probably Fluxbox too) collide with Blender key-combos, so turning these off in your windowmanager will get you around this problem, or maybe move your "alt" key combo to another key like the windows-startkey (as I have done). I removed KDE from my system cause it collides with something, Ubuntu doesn't fully support KDE yet, but Gnome 2.8.1 works like charm :) , but did move alt to winstartkey instead in Gnome too :)

cheers!

ps. forget to rename the file ;) and it should be updated too (binary) !!

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

I removed KDE from my system cause it collides with something, Ubuntu doesn't fully support KDE yet, but Gnome 2.8.1 works like charm , but did move alt to winstartkey instead in Gnome too
Sorry, I don't get it. You removed KDE, but still use it thru Gnome ? :? What do you mean ? What window manager are you using ?

Another thing, how did you move ALT to WINkey ?

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

I removed KDE from my system...had both gnome and kde....now gnome only...

in windowmanagers you can set another key for the windowbehaivors... :)

malefico
Posts: 43
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2002 6:51 am

Post by malefico »

OK I got it now :D

Mason
Posts: 0
Joined: Sat May 08, 2004 10:22 am

using win key for window manager operation

Post by Mason »

if you want to swap alt with win key you should

put an option in xorg.conf under option for keyboard device (i'm not sure about this, maybe it is not required, and maybe put it in X0-config.keyboard conf file always under /etc/X11/xkb, you can try without touching the xorg and X0-config.keyboard to call xmodmap, see below)

Option "XkbOptions" "altwin:meta_win"

then create a file ~/.Xmodmap (or call it as you want, it isn't called by default anyway) like this

clear mod1
clear mod4
add mod1 = Meta_L Meta_R
add mod4 = Alt_L Alt_R

then exec it from xmodmap

xmodmap ~/.Xmodmap

i suggest to put it in a ~/.xinitrc or something that you distro call when starting x

then with win key you should can resizing and moving windows using the mouse drag, and the alt key should be free for your applications, like blender

i hope it helps

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

okej....new build and changed name for this one too...

go and play ;)

ben_o
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:54 pm

Post by ben_o »

Does anyone know if this includes the new Normal Map code? I've tried it out with a demo normal blend I found, and it might just be the blend, but the rendered result was not what I expected....

I've heard that RC2 is necessary for 'correct' Normal mapping, but there's no RC2 linux build yet, so I wondered if the code had 'slipped in'

Ben

(New build, ztonzy, chop chop... what do I pay you for? Wait, I don't pay you at all... take you time :) All builds appreciated!)

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

hi ben :)

sorry I haven't taken time to upload a recent build, but I can do it when I am back home, so no, this link doesn't use the new Normal mapping feature...

about RC2 and the linuxbuild, and there's no one yet because the official builder (the person) haven't make one yet ;)

but I will upload a new one later today (in a few hours)

cheers!

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

ztonzy wrote:hi ben :)

sorry I haven't taken time to upload a recent build, but I can do it when I am back home, so no, this link doesn't use the new Normal mapping feature...

about RC2 and the linuxbuild, and there's no one yet because the official builder (the person) haven't make one yet ;)

but I will upload a new one later today (in a few hours)

cheers!
okey !

new fresh upload of Blender 2.36 RC2 linux

go get it ;)

ben_o
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Sep 14, 2004 3:54 pm

Post by ben_o »

:shock: I feel really bad now!

I didn't mean to force you into it.... ah well :oops:

Thanks!

Ben

Tochiro
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2004 10:11 am

Post by Tochiro »

hi, and tank's for blender 2.36 RC2 build.
Blender don't start on my computer, this is the output of console:

Code: Select all

[root@server blender-2.35a-linux-glibc2.3.2-i386]# ./blender
./blender: error while loading shared libraries: libopenal.so.0: cannot open shared object file: No such file or directory
[root@server blender-2.35a-linux-glibc2.3.2-i386]# 
is it a my problem ? :(
P.S. this build is a dynamic version or a static version?

sten
Posts: 177
Joined: Sun Oct 13, 2002 7:47 pm

Post by sten »

Tochiro:

your system doesn't have OpenAL installed ?

seems like it to me...

what distro do you run?

Post Reply