bf-blender / Win32 (06/01/30)

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

bf-blender / Win32 (06/01/30)

Post by Bellorum »

Had some problems compiling Bf-Blender after the merge, so the first build is just a quick testcompile, before I make any major customizations. I have had some fun changing the 3d-manipulator icons, though :) I think mine are a little more descriptive. As shown here (cut'n'paste job for proposal):

Image

Now there's also a tweak/fullscreen build, for those of you who prefer that.

Disclaimer from Ton:
I like to make a note that the removed "Fullscreen" windows option will cause OpenGL in Blender to not work properly. It was removed because the code was just too bad and quick hack.
I know the functionality is great and appreciated, but we have to wait for someone presenting us a more solid solition for it.
"Clean" build:
http://www.graphicall.org/builds/builds ... show&id=84

Tweak/fullscreen build:
http://www.graphicall.org/builds/builds ... show&id=85



Have fun!
Last edited by Bellorum on Sat Feb 04, 2006 2:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

Caronte
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Post by Caronte »

Thank you very much, Bellorum :D that tweak mode is very apreciate.
I don't know why not in every release like an option :roll:
Caronte.
"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"
http://www.nicodigital.com

elGordo
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:38 pm

Post by elGordo »

Agreeing with Caronte, I also find Tweakmode very usefull when modelling. Thank you very much for this build!!!
Everybody loves Ned Flanders

Burre
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 22, 2005 1:00 am

Post by Burre »

What does the tweakmode patch add?

Caronte
Posts: 76
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2002 12:53 am
Location: Valencia-Spain-Europe

Post by Caronte »

Burre wrote:What does the tweakmode patch add?
You can edit (move) with RMB very fast, because don't need the LMB confirmation.
Caronte.
"Some Day, All Will Be Digital"
http://www.nicodigital.com

elGordo
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 2:38 pm

Post by elGordo »

With this build, I found sometimes difficult to select vetexes. In former compilatios it was a matter of switching on and off depth buffer clipping (with it on, I couldn't select some vertexes), but now I can't do it in many cases, no matter if it is on or off. Maybe a matter of tweak mode?
Everybody loves Ned Flanders

malCanDo
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Oct 21, 2002 1:44 pm
Location: Ireland
Contact:

Post by malCanDo »

Bellorum,

The icons are definitely improved!

Could you also try creating a new Hand icon?

I think a competition to design new icons for Blender ( and for Blender to allow for custom icons as a theme ) would be a great idea!

Mal

kitsu
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 8:08 am

Post by kitsu »

Yeah, the new widget icons look very good! BTW objects in a 3d view set to 'shaded' look like fruit salad in this build. Does this happen for anyone else, or is it my fruity ati video card?

Bellorum
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2004 3:27 pm

Post by Bellorum »

malCanDo wrote:The icons are definitely improved!

Could you also try creating a new Hand icon?
Thanks! Believe me, I've been working on a replacement for the hand icon. Never understood the logic for it being a hand, anyways :? I would like for it to better convey it's function. Ideas are welcomed. :)
Yeah, the new widget icons look very good! BTW objects in a 3d view set to 'shaded' look like fruit salad in this build. Does this happen for anyone else, or is it my fruity ati video card?
Might be your ATI card. One of the biggest reasons for removing the fullscreen option was that ATI cards had major problems with it.
There's no such thing as democracy. There's only the tyranny of one, and the tyranny of many.

aligorith
Posts: 0
Joined: Sun Dec 05, 2004 3:40 am
Location: Chch, NZ

Post by aligorith »

BTW objects in a 3d view set to 'shaded' look like fruit salad in this build
My graphics card also does this (since Orange CVS of 23Jan2006). However, it also draws meshes in 'solid draw mode' as dark-ish objects divided into four patches of colour when set smooth is on.

Aligorith

solmax
Posts: 86
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 2:47 am
Contact:

Post by solmax »

Bellorum wrote: Thanks! Believe me, I've been working on a replacement for the hand icon. Never understood the logic for it being a hand, anyways :? I would like for it to better convey it's function. Ideas are welcomed. :)
hand >> handle or hand >> manipulator. basically its derived from the fact that you use yor hand to manipulate things (and manipulate itself comes from ancient latin "manus"). of course this can be applied to sooo many functions and buttons inside blender, we should have this icon everywhere! :) but in the end it makes sense for some ppl., and for others not - like always

it's hard to find the right approach. it would also sound logiacl if you say:" handles are invisible by default, so the button enabling them and thus making them visible should be based on an eye". or, to make it even more "logical", take an eye AND a hand.. or get rid of both :)

Post Reply