Blender v2.41 & YafRay v0.0.8 for Windows x64 *[Apr-25]*

User-contributed CVS development builds. Please test and give feedback!

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Blender v2.41 & YafRay v0.0.8 for Windows x64 *[Apr-25]*

Post by adkiller » Thu Mar 09, 2006 4:11 pm

Here are the links to download 'em:
Blender v2.41 for Windows x64 (P2)
Blender v2.41 for Windows x64 (P2) (Mirror 1)
Blender v2.41 for Windows x64 (P2) (Mirror 2)
YafRay v0.0.8 for Windows x64

For AMD64/EM64T processors without SSE3 support:
YafRay v0.0.8 for Windows x64-SSE2 (P1)

Stackless Python is an enhanced version of the Python programming language. More info and a x64 build for Blender is available from here:
Stackless Python 2.4.3 for Blender x64 v2.41

The applications were built with SSE3 optimizations but is also useable on SSE2 CPUs. Please post in this thread if you have any problems. I have made some code tweaks to utilise 64-bit optimizations. You should be able to see a 40%-60% speed increase in most cases. Since this is a native x64 application, it takes advantage of 64-bit OpenGL drivers. We have thoroughly tested the above builds and it is stable as the official 32-bit releases.

Works on both EM64T and AMD64 running Windows x64 editions.

NOTE: This release will *only* work on the following OS:
1. Microsoft Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
2. Microsoft Windows 2003 Server x64 Edition

This release will *not* work on Windows XP Home and XP Pro (32-bit Edition) running on AMD64/EM64T processors.

Warning: If you have a previous x64 blender build from me installed, please uninstall it and use the above release instead. The previous builds have serious boolean and file open bugs that could crash your system and corrupt your scenes.

Change Log:
Build P2 (March 13, 2006)
-Blender 32-bit compatibility fixes added.
Stackless Python 2.4.2 x64 (March 27, 2006)
-Added download link for Stackless Python x64
YafRay SSE2 P1 (April 25, 2006)
-SSE2 build with all SSE2 dependencies released
Stackless Python 2.4.3 x64 (April 25, 2006)
-Updated stackless python released

Enjoy,
-Ad
Last edited by adkiller on Wed Jul 26, 2006 1:55 pm, edited 13 times in total.

ysvry
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 4:28 pm

Post by ysvry » Thu Mar 09, 2006 6:38 pm

nice can you also do an 32 bit optimized yafray p4 version? plz.

etr9j
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:40 am

Render tests

Post by etr9j » Fri Mar 10, 2006 3:33 am

Okay, here is my first go at a high poly model I use to test rendering. According to Blender 32 it has Ve: 251797 and Fa: 329091. Here are the result averaged from two renders of each combination:

Blender x64 + YafRay x64 took 72.37 seconds
Blender x64 + Blender Internal took 82.96 (1.15 times longer)
Blender 32 + YafRay 32 took 103.7 seconds (1.43 times longer)
Blender 32 + Blender Internal took 142.92 (1.97 times longer)

Issues:
1) I opened the file using the 32bit Blender first, and everything was cool, but when I opened the file in Blender x64 I found that the Vertices and Faces read a higher number (~63000 each), but the renderer (internal and YafRay x64) displayed the correct vertices and faces. Saving it, then going back to 32bit still showed the 63000 vertice and face count.

2) I couldn't open material libraries from blend files made in 32bit.

3) Interesting to note, I could open blend files in Blender32 made in Blenderx64. They had basic materials, nothing fancy.

P.S. Ad - You are the best for getting an x64 YafRay and Blender out!

adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by adkiller » Fri Mar 10, 2006 1:59 pm

Hi,

etr9j, thanks for the feedback.

Please try this new build:
Blender v2.41 for Windows x64 (P1)

Let me know if this works as expected.

Thanks,
-Ad

etr9j
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:40 am

Post by etr9j » Sat Mar 11, 2006 2:51 am

I was rendering some other models and the vert/face count stayed the same in both 32 and 64. So either the your magic worked on the new file, or the model I was using was cursed. Either way, it dosn't seem to be happening, so I would rather believe it was your genius than a failing of mine.

jesterKing
Site Admin
Posts: 207
Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2002 12:48 pm
Location: Finland

Post by jesterKing » Sat Mar 11, 2006 10:32 am


adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by adkiller » Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:27 am

etr9j wrote:I was rendering some other models and the vert/face count stayed the same in both 32 and 64. So either the your magic worked on the new file, or the model I was using was cursed. Either way, it dosn't seem to be happening, so I would rather believe it was your genius than a failing of mine.
I would appreciate it if you could try opening the model you were using before again in my updated build and post back the results. Sorry to trouble you, but I would like this release to reach the quality expectations set for it.

PS: I have made another update that have smaller blender executable sizes while providing similar levels of performance.

Thanks,
-Ad
Last edited by adkiller on Mon Mar 13, 2006 4:11 am, edited 1 time in total.

adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by adkiller » Mon Mar 13, 2006 3:47 am

jesterKing wrote:http://projects.blender.org/pipermail/b ... 13814.html

Just so you know :)

/Nathan
Thanks for the heads-up! The problems I have faced are mostly related to the type of compiler and optimizations. I will send Ton an e-mail and hopefully he could test my build as well.

Thanks,
-Ad

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip » Mon Mar 13, 2006 5:06 am

The speed the user is getting, change your octree and parts settings higher will probably speed blender render up quite a bit.

LetterRip

adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by adkiller » Mon Mar 13, 2006 7:45 am

ysvry wrote:nice can you also do an 32 bit optimized yafray p4 version? plz.
Sorry, I missed your post. I'll be focusing on releasing x64 releases at the moment. I may consider doing P4/SSE3/HT optimized versions if I do have the time later.

Thanks,
-Ad

etr9j
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:40 am

Post by etr9j » Tue Mar 14, 2006 3:49 am

Hey Ad, sorry I missed your message above, somehow my notify box was unchecked on my last post. I opened a back up (therefore untouched) model and it came up with the correct number of vertices and faces.

I would also like to add that I had my numbers mixed up in my first post. The true vertices and faces are around 600000 each and the erroneous number was 251797 and 329091.

adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by adkiller » Tue Mar 14, 2006 12:33 pm

etr9j wrote:Hey Ad, sorry I missed your message above, somehow my notify box was unchecked on my last post. I opened a back up (therefore untouched) model and it came up with the correct number of vertices and faces.

I would also like to add that I had my numbers mixed up in my first post. The true vertices and faces are around 600000 each and the erroneous number was 251797 and 329091.
We are using these builds for production. We now have both x64 and x86 build in use. Previously, we were x64 exclusive.

Appreciate the feedback.

Thanks,
-Ad

etr9j
Posts: 0
Joined: Fri Mar 10, 2006 2:40 am

Post by etr9j » Wed Mar 22, 2006 3:17 pm

Hey Ad,

I saw your post over at http://www.BlenderNation.com and since you wouldn't be alerted that I posted something, I thought I would post it at the official thread. You said that you were thinking of doing a x64 build of the recent Stackless Python 2.4.2. What kind of advantages would that give Blender? I'm not to fluent in python to begin with, so the www.stackless.com site was very interesting.

adkiller
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Feb 06, 2006 12:19 pm

Post by adkiller » Mon Mar 27, 2006 10:46 am

etr9j wrote:Hey Ad,

I saw your post over at http://www.BlenderNation.com and since you wouldn't be alerted that I posted something, I thought I would post it at the official thread. You said that you were thinking of doing a x64 build of the recent Stackless Python 2.4.2. What kind of advantages would that give Blender? I'm not to fluent in python to begin with, so the www.stackless.com site was very interesting.
In short, stackless provides a much lightweight threading mechanism over standard Python. Currently EVE Online is using Stackless for their MMO game. For an example of the benefits of stackless please have a look at the EVE online presentation:
http://www.stackless.com/Members/rmtew/ ... on2006Pres

Stackless Python is essentially useful if you are doing any of the following:
- Heavily threaded scripts for import/export, rendering, etc.
- Writing a complex networked game in Blender

Thanks,
-Ad

CoolDudePT
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:15 pm

Post by CoolDudePT » Thu Apr 13, 2006 2:28 pm

Hi all! I've been using blender for a while now and I'm sorta new to yafray. I want to take advantage of my AMD64 and XP 64, so I downloaded the 2 builds (blender+yafray) from the links above. However after installing both blender console givesd me this error when trying to render with yafray:
Fatal error: This program was not built to run on the processor in your system.
Could not execute yafray. Is it in path?

I have followed the instuctions in yafray's readme regarding the path. (added ;YAFRAY_DIR to path in the environment variables)

I'm sorry for what might be such a dumb question, but thanks in advance :)

cya
Why can't you CTRL+Z in real life?

Post Reply