Physical simulation for blender

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

aliona

Physical simulation for blender

Post by aliona » Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:09 pm

Hello All!

I am interested in physical simulation and I think, that I can contribute to simulations in blender. I could implement one of such effects as fire, smoke, water, cloth etc. I think that I have an ability to do it because physical simulation is my speciality. I am a 4th year student of MIPT. In a few month I will finish the work on my diploma, connected with the simulation of gas flowing through the complex structures. And now I'd like to try my skills in a big popular project like blender.

I also contribute to physical simulator Step (http://edu.kde.org/step/)

I have thought about applying project for Blender in Summer of Code 2007.

LetterRip

Re: Physical simulation for blender

Post by LetterRip » Sat Mar 10, 2007 8:26 pm

aliona wrote:Hello All!

I am interested in physical simulation and I think, that I can contribute to simulations in blender. I could implement one of such effects as fire, smoke, water, cloth etc. I think that I have an ability to do it because physical simulation is my speciality. I am a 4th year student of MIPT. In a few month I will finish the work on my diploma, connected with the simulation of gas flowing through the complex structures. And now I'd like to try my skills in a big popular project like blender.

I also contribute to physical simulator Step (http://edu.kde.org/step/)

I have thought about applying project for Blender in Summer of Code 2007.
Hi such work would certainly be a greatly appreciated contribution.

Blender has cloth (soft body solver and a cloth solver) and water (generalized fluid simulator, but currently only does liquids) simulation. Smoke and flame are both currently not available in Blender but are greatly desired.