Licensing and Python Scripts

General discussion about the development of the open source Blender

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Digiproc

Licensing and Python Scripts

Post by Digiproc » Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:36 pm

Hi all,

I’m thinking about distributing an aggregate installer program that includes:

1. An unmodified Blender distribution (under GPL, of course)
2. A python plugin that I wrote for Blender (which will be public domain)
3. A Windows DLL I wrote that will be under a non-free, closed-source (but GPL-compatible) license.

The python script would run under Blender and import only the BPY library and my non-free DLL. No other libraries will be imported.

I have some experience with GPL and I believe this complies with the licenses involved.

But what has confused me are the statements on http://www.blender.org/education-help/f ... or-artists

First there’s this (which makes sense to me):

“When a script uses calls that are part of the Blender Python Script Interpreter, the interpreted program, to Blender, is just data; you can run it any way you like, and there are no requirements about licensing that data to anyone.”

But then that same section asserts a restriction that scripts that call third-party libraries must follow the GPL apparently regardless of the license for that library, thus:

“If you link a Blender Python script to other libraries, plug-ins or programs, the GPL license defines they form a single program, and that the terms of the GPL must be followed for all components when this case gets distributed.”

-and-

"Not OK is: Author publishes a Blender script, calling a compiled C library with own code, both under own license. "

If the script is not under the GPL (as stated by the first quote above), and the library it is calling is not under the GPL, then the second and third quotes above are false. Is that correct?

Any help will be appreciated.

stiv

Post by stiv » Tue Dec 28, 2010 5:50 pm