Portablility

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Duckwagon

Portablility

Post by Duckwagon » Fri Jan 28, 2011 1:40 am

I am a big Portable Application user, as I'm a college student and I like using the same applications, with the same preferences, on every computer.

Thus my reason for using blender; It's free, awesome, and it's mostly portable/self-sustaining. There's even a build on PortableApps.com for the 2.49 (i.e. non-beta build) version.

However, I'm having a little difficulty keeping my preferences with 2.5x beta. I'd rather not have to wait for a portable build to come out; because it will require it's out of beta, and since there is a little more UI and such, it will take a little more working to get it into the right PA file layout so it will work; so in other words, it might not happen.

Most of my problem lies in the fact that on different computers, the drive letter generally changes; thus, even if I want to change the temporary file location (which is super that it has that option in that first place...) it won't work. (PA uses a 'placeholder' that the launcher refers to.)

There are a few tweaks you can do that rely heavily on scripting and/or command-line with the Portable launcher, but that's a little too complicated for me to do.

Are there any Portability tips you might have; and if possible, a way to overcome the hurdles of changing drive letters? I want to keep my default settings.

Thanks!

Datawraith

Post by Datawraith » Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:07 am

I use my USB to take Blender with me everywhere. Here is what I do.

1: Save my default settings in the startup file. (edit settings, interface, etc.)

2: Then whenever I start using UV maps, I always pack them into the .blend file so that the UV textures never come up with broken directories (letter changes).

3: I have the .Blend files on the USB along with an installation of Blender on the USB as well.

Duckwagon