Segfault when doing some basic operations - Linux

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

Post Reply
LonePiper
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:50 pm
Location: Australia

Segfault when doing some basic operations - Linux

Post by LonePiper » Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:56 pm

Hey guys. I've posted this already at BlenderArtists, but am not gettting any replies unfortunately. I know this site is more for development, but I would love to find a solution! Any help would be appreciated and then I will get out of your hair (until I have something useful to offer ;))

Here goes:

I'm a new Blender user and have just been following some of the beginner's tutorials on Blender Cookie.

However, in just the third lesson I'm already finding Blender crashing on me, specifically when I'm performing some fairly simple functions such as "Extrude Individual". The following is from blender.crash.txt

Code: Select all

# Blender 2.66 (sub 1), Revision: unknown
bpy.ops.object.editmode_toggle()  # Operator
bpy.ops.mesh.primitive_cylinder_add(vertices=32, radius=1, depth=2, end_fill_type='NGON', view_align=False, enter_editmode=False, location=(-2.22834, -5.57167, -0.427192), rotation=(0, 0, 0), layers=(True, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False, False))  # Operator

# backtrace
blender() [0x8553fe]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libpthread.so.0(+0xfbd0) [0x7f571f0b8bd0]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(__vsnprintf_chk+0x7f) [0x7f571aacbbcf]
blender(BLI_vsnprintf+0x2b) [0xeb036b]
blender(BLI_snprintf+0x82) [0xeb0432]
blender(ShrinkFatten+0x88) [0x9608d8]
blender(transformApply+0x85) [0x96b5a5]
blender() [0x9874dd]
blender() [0x8680f0]
blender() [0x85c5cc]
blender() [0x85cea6]
blender() [0x85d1c6]
blender(wm_event_do_handlers+0x1ab) [0x85d4db]
blender(WM_main+0x18) [0x856758]
blender(main+0xb85) [0x84aa25]
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xf5) [0x7f571a9ddea5]
blender() [0x854085]
The whole terminal output is as follows:

Code: Select all

Color management: using fallback mode for management
connect failed: No such file or directory
Writing: /tmp/blender.crash.txt
Segmentation fault
I'm using linux Mint 15 with Cinnamon, 64 bit, ATI radeon graphics card.

I've googled this and the only mention of it I have found is something that was supposedly fixed about a year ago.

Oh yeah, I'm using Blender 2.66a

If anyone can help me out that would be great

LonePiper
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:50 pm
Location: Australia

Post by LonePiper » Sun Jul 14, 2013 4:39 pm

I'm just bumping this (only once, I promise!).

Also would like to add this link, where the problem has been seen before and supposedly fixed (if I am reading this right). However, I assure you I am getting what seems to be exactly the same problem

https://projects.blender.org/tracker/?f ... group_id=9

Any help would be much appreciated

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Sun Jul 14, 2013 7:06 pm

I'm using Blender 2.66a
Can you reproduce the problem with current Blender (2.67)? That specific fix was about 8983 commits ago.

If so, it might be bug report time.

LonePiper
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2013 7:50 pm
Location: Australia

Post by LonePiper » Tue Jul 16, 2013 3:41 pm

stiv wrote:
I'm using Blender 2.66a
Can you reproduce the problem with current Blender (2.67)? That specific fix was about 8983 commits ago.

If so, it might be bug report time.
Oh derp. I keep forgetting half the software in the ubuntu repositories are out of date.
It works now, and I'm a little bit embarassed :oops:

stiv
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 7:58 am
Location: 45N 86W

Post by stiv » Tue Jul 16, 2013 5:46 pm

It works now, and I'm a little bit embarassed Embarassed
Don't be! (well, ok maybe a little. heehee). Glad it is working.

Seriously, Blender develops at a rapid pace which means bugs get fixed (and created!) fairly quickly. So one of the first things to check if you have a bug is to make sure you are running the latest official release version.

The same thing applies if you are running a build from SVN (the development version). First thing to do is an svn update.

Post Reply