Blender as a Vj-ing tool

Game Engine, Players & Web Plug-in, Virtual Reality, support for other engines

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

pildanovak

Blender as a Vj-ing tool

Post by pildanovak » Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:28 pm

has already anybody else had the idea of using blender as a Vjing tool? i've made up an simple scene - changing and layering system, and use the midiinput to control/skratch the animation, also included action changing etc. if anybody else is interested in developing this simple scripted system, please, post a reply, and we can start a python script project within the project tree.

The main problem is now, that my system now runs on blender p. 2.25, i didn't try to port the thing to tuhopuu yet, because i'm not sure if the scripts wouldn't have to be re-done twice.

I'm not a coder, so my scripts are quite simple. The main idea is to have a system in which you can upload as many scenes as you want, all of them compatible, this way there could also work the content - sharing.

nay

Post by nay » Tue Mar 16, 2004 11:48 pm

that project sounds great!

so am i correct in thinking you already have midi working? i'd love to get a copy of that script. i'm not so much into vj-ing as interactive installations but i did attempt a script a while back to use OSC to trigger blender so that it could receive signal from Pure-Data/max/jmax etc.

The script is done according to what i think it should be (i'm no coder either) but i haven't gotten around to testing it because of troubles setting up my python path on linux (of all the obstacles to have... ). am hoping to get around to finishing that soonish though. although if you have midi running i might not need it, although osc can be sent via networks...

don't know if i can offer much assistance as my coding is still quite poor but if there's anything i could do i'd love to get involved

cheers

nay.

alien-xmp

Post by alien-xmp » Wed Mar 17, 2004 1:47 am