Image based motion blur

Blender's renderer and external renderer export

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

env

Image based motion blur

Post by env » Tue Feb 08, 2005 12:03 pm

I wrote a short paper about the possibility to implement image based motion blur in Blender. I'm not a coder, so I collected different fonts to have a general idea of the feature and some proposal to make it work as a postprocess effect in the Blender Sequencer.
Here's the link to the paper:
http://www.enricovalenza.com/mb.html

Thanks for the attention

EnV

harkyman

Post by harkyman » Tue Feb 08, 2005 3:01 pm

Hear ye, hear ye, this man speaks the truth.

After careful observation of much good animation, one of the conclusions I have come to is that good motion blur is essential to a watchable animation. Of course, it's not the only thing you need, but it gives an amazing quality boost if used properly.

env, read your proposal and the linked documentation. I really think that the one that combined a lower level of frame-based blur (like Blender does now) with image-based blur is great. I could see that working very well in Blender. Also, if vectorial blur were available as a sequence strip, you could use it in any combo you liked with the frame based blur Blender already has, tweaking it to your scene's complexity and your time constraints.

The real hurdle to doing this would be getting the motion data out of Blender. As the image-based system performs its evaluations on a pixel-by-pixel basis, the logical place to generate the motion data would be within the renderer. In other words, you would have to turn on a "include vector info" button in the Render buttons, and write the code that evaluated and constructed the secondary image that represented the motion vector of each pixel. Once that was working, I think that the actual sequence and code for blurring would be relatively simple.