Where to add massive changes?

Compiling, libraries, modules, coding guidelines and porting

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

gtmacdonald

Where to add massive changes?

Post by gtmacdonald »

Hi all,

I'm new to blender development and have just started adding lots of new object types in order to support OpenFlight. I already wrote a script to do this: http://sourceforge.net/projects/blight/, but found that it wasn't enough. So I'm adding special objects for point lights and level of detail nodes. About 5 in all, plus a few objects that will behave similar to materials in blender.

Development is going good so far, but I'm curious if I should be talking to someone about how to do this so that it gets included in the main tree. OpenFlight is used by the visual simulation industry (for flight sims, commercial airline trainers, combat sims, etc.), but not by anyone else really. Should I place a button in the info panel to turn on and off this functionality? Or will that make it easier for someone to break my code without noticing?

I'm concerned that someone might not like me adding complexity to the interface for functionality that only a subset of blender users will use. But I think if I can get this finished, it will be much better than the OpenFlight support offered by Maya and 3DStudio. If a project lead could give me some direction on how to proceed, I'd appreciate it.

Regards,
Greg MacDonald

LetterRip

Post by LetterRip »

Hi Greg,

subscribe to bf-committers and email an equivalent to your post here,

split your work into different patches, and place them in the patch tracker,