MD2 export problem

The interface, modeling, 3d editing tools, import/export, feature requests, etc

Moderators: jesterKing, stiv

schmidti
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:49 pm

Post by schmidti »

with a more complex model... my mesh too :roll:

but i think i have figured out the problem. it's the mesh-fetching in line 837:

Code: Select all

mesh.getFromObject(object.name)
during this mesh update, its getting destroyed.
with the fetching-code from an other export script it works now with a complex mesh too :D

the fixed code
http://0x30.de/content/md2_export.py

Peter

I.C.
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by I.C. »

I´m realy sorry :(
Image

schmidti
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:49 pm

Post by schmidti »

hm...
is your model made entirely out of triangles? during conversion there is also the "object.getData"-Problem...

i replaced all the object.getData stuff in this version:
http://0x30.de/content/md2_export.py
surfmasta wrote:Hi, i'm using version 0.17.4 of the md2-exporter in blender 2.41 and it destroys my simple model. Can you take a look on it? I have a UV-mapped version where the same problem happens, but the main problem is, that some of the vertex-points are in the wrong position.
Blender-Model -> http://netster.de/public/rupee.blend
it's now correctly converted in a pure triangle-mesh.

Peter

arkdm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:56 pm

Post by arkdm »

Getting an error with this script:

Code: Select all

                   ^
SyntaxError: invalid syntax
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "C:\Program Files\Blender Foundation\Blender\.blender\scripts\md2_export.
py", line 53, in ?

ImportError: No module named BPyMesh
Any ideas?

I.C.
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by I.C. »

it still doesnt work... now Blender crashes with all kind of Meshes

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

Hi is that with 2.42a?

Could you post some example meshes that it has problems with to the bug tracker?

Thanks,

LetterRip

I.C.
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by I.C. »

yes i use the 2.42a...

here is the Mesh:
http://www.rogepost.com/dn/s0xq/RamrodMD2.blend

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

a crash or doesn't export?

I get an error, but no crash...

LetterRip

I.C.
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2006 9:52 pm

Post by I.C. »

a crash

schmidti
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:49 pm

Post by schmidti »

i can not download it.

with the debian pacakge blender=2.42-1, i also got an "index out of range" script error, but this should be fixed now. i can export all my meshes.
http://0x30.de/content/md2_export.py

Peter

arkdm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:56 pm

Hmmmm

Post by arkdm »

I tried that script. Still nothing. This time it says that there's no module named BPyMesh. Thanks for your help anyway.

Really surprised nobody from Blender has helped on this. MD2 is a relatively popular format, I would have thought that they could get an exporter working.

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

I've tested the exporter in the past and it has seemed to work, if you want bugs fixed the patch tracker is generally the best way - submit a bug report, submit a file that doesn't work, and give a detailed report.

You could say i am 'from blender' in that I am a co maintainer of the scripts that are bundled with Blender. The author of the script in question is Bob Holcomb, and if you provide a usable bug report then he or I would likely be happy to try and fix the issue for you.

LetterRip

arkdm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:56 pm

Post by arkdm »

Thanks for your response. We've submitted several bug reports with full non-working models and nothing has come of it. Bob helped for a while, but I haven't heard from him for a few months. I hope you understand how frustrating this situation is for people like me, who don't have the option of using another file type.

LetterRip
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Mar 25, 2004 7:03 am

Post by LetterRip »

could you link the bug report?

Here is the tracker and I don't see any MD5 related bugs..

http://projects.blender.org/tracker/?at ... unc=browse

There were some bugs in the tracker that were to my knowledge fixed and then closed. If they were improperly closed you can either reopen the bug report, or submit a new one.

Thanks,

LetterRip

arkdm
Posts: 0
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 7:56 pm

Post by arkdm »

I couldn't find them - so I submitted another one.

Post Reply